PRESS RELEASE from Hillaary Clinton for President
January 11, 2008

American Samoa Governor Tulafono Endorses Clinton
Prominent Community Leaders also Back Hillary

The Clinton campaign today announced the endorsement of American Samoa Governor Togiola T.A. Tulafono, and named him National Co-Chair of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders for Hillary.

Three other super-delegates to the Democratic National Convention also endorsed Hillary: Chairman of the American Samoa Democratic Party Fagafaga Daniel Langkilde and Samoa Democratic National Committee Members Deanna Fuimaono and Nathaniel Savali. Senator Clinton has been endorsed by former Samoa Party State Chair Oreta Togafau and Party Executive Director Clara Reid.

"I believe in Senator Hillary Clinton because she talks like one of us, and she inspires confidence, warmth, and trust for all people," said Governor Tulafono.

"At a time when our country faces so many complex challenges, we need a leader with the strength and the experience to make change happen starting from day one," said Langkilde. "That leader is Hillary Clinton."

In 1978, Tulafono was appointed as a District Court Judge, and served in that capacity for two years. He was elected to the American Samoa Senate in 1980, serving through 1984 and then from 1988 to 1996. Tulafono served as Lt. Governor from 1996-2003, before becoming Governor of the territory.

Fagafaga Daniel Langkilde is President of Samoa’s Malama TV and is a former member of the American Samoa House of Representatives and of the Democratic National Committee.

Deanna Fuimaono is Legal Counsel of the American Samoa Senate. Nathaniel Savali is Legal Counsel of the territory’s House of Representatives.

Oreta Togafau currently serves a Senior Policy Advisor to the Governor. She formerly was District Office Director for Delegate to the U.S. House of Representatives Eni Faleomavaega, and served 13 years as Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees of the American Samoa Community College. Clara Reid has worked in Samoa’s Office of Tourism for 18 years.