PRESS RELEASE from Hillary Clinton for President


April 9, 2008


Contact: North Carolina Press Office


North Carolina for Hillary Announces Statewide Leadership Council


The North Carolina for Hillary Campaign today announced its statewide Leadership Council. The list is comprised of over 160 elected officials and community leaders from 23 counties across the state. They join prominent North Carolinians General Hugh Shelton and Maya Angelou in their support of Senator Clinton.


“We are supporting Senator Clinton because we believe she will be the best president for North Carolina and for this country,” said former Democratic Party Chair Tom Hendrickson. “She understands the issues facing voters in North Carolina and has strong plans to boost our economy and rebuild the middle class. We will work aggressively over the next month to share Senator’s Clinton bold vision for the future of our country with voters across the Tar Heel State.”



North Carolina for Hillary Leadership Council


Buncombe County

·        Marie Colton, Former Speaker Pro Tempore, North Carolina House of Representatives - Asheville

·        Susan C. Fisher, State Representative - Asheville

·        Tommye Saunooke, Member, Tribal Council of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians - Asheville

·        Alan Thornburg, Former Judge, North Carolina Court of Appeals - Asheville


Carteret County

·        G. Malcolm Fulcher, Former State Representative

·        Hugh Wilde, Chair, Carteret County Democratic Party


Cleveland County

·        Betsy Wells, Former Chair, Cleveland County Democratic Party - Kings Mountain


Cumberland County

·        Debbie Liebers, Community Leader

·        Tom Macon, Former Officer, American Postal Workers Union (APWU) - Fayetteville

·        Becky Wallace, Former U.S. Marshall - Fayetteville


Durham County         

·        Renu Annechiarico, Former Owner, Royal Thai Restaurant - Durham

·        Tony Arias, Business Leader - Durham

·        Mandy Carter, Community Organizer - Durham

·        Alex Huang, Professor - Durham

·        Jing Leng, Researcher - Durham

·        Charles Sanders, Former CEO, Glaxo  - Durham


Forsyth County

·        Bert Bennett, Entrepreneur - Winston-Salem

·        Janet Bennett, Community Leader - Winston-Salem

·        John Bennett, Business Leader - Winston-Salem

·        Kimberly Clark, PhD, Post-Doctoral Research Fellow, Wake Forest University - Winston-Salem

·        Tom Lambeth, Chair, North Carolina Rural Economic Development Center, Inc. - Winston-Salem

·        Ashley O. Thrift, Attorney - Winston-Salem

·        Dr. Julianne Thrift, Former President, Salem College - Winston-Salem

·        Emily Herring Wilson, Writer - Winston-Salem


Gaston County

·        Julia Dolley, Community Leader - Gastonia

·        Steve Dolley, Former State Representative - Gastonia


Granville County

·        Tom McGee, Former Town Manager - Butner


Guilford County

·        Linda Carlisle, Community Leader - Greensboro

·        Kay Cashion, Vice Chair, Guilford County Commission - Franklin

·        Sallie Cone, Community Leader - Greensboro

·        John Covington Overfield, Attorney - Greensboro

·        Linda Hiatt, Community Leader - Greensboro

·        Randall Kaplan, Business Leader - Greensboro

·        Julie Lapham, PhD, Non Profit Director - Greensboro

·        James F. Morgan, Former State Representative - High Point

·        Peter Reichard, Managing Director, Tryon Capital - Greensboro

·        Susan Shore Schwartz, Executive Director, Cemala Foundation - Greensboro


Harnett County

·        Robert Morgan, Former U.S. Senator - Buies Creek

·        Katie Morgan - Buies Creek


Johnston County

·        Allen Wellons, Former State Senator - Smithfield


Lincoln County

·        Judy Gilbert, Former Chair, Lincoln County Democratic Party


Mecklenburg County

·        Jim Babb, Retired Communications Specialist - Charlotte

·        Bishop George Edward Battle Jr.- Charlotte

·        Mark Bernstein, Attorney and Former Chair of North Carolina Economic Development Board - Charlotte

·        Maria Boral, Community Leader - Charlotte

·        Crandall Bowles, Chair, The Springs Company - Charlotte

·        Susan Burgess, Mayor Pro Tem, Charlotte City Council, Super Delegate, and President of the North Carolina League of Municipalities - Charlotte

·        Mark Calloway, Former U.S. Attorney - Charlotte

·        Astrid Chirinos, Multi-cultural & Workforce Development - Charlotte

·        Daniel G. Clodfelter, State Senator

·        Jill Dinwiddie, Community Leader - Charlotte

·        Mark Erwin, Former U.S. Ambassador - Charlotte

·        Alejandra Elliot, Educator - Charlotte

·        Jill Flynn, Business Leader - Charlotte

·        Sarah Belk Gambrell - Charlotte

·        Alvaro & Hilda Gurdian, Community Leaders - Charlotte

·        Bridget-Anne Hampden, Former Managing Director and Chief Information Officer, Corporate and Investment Banking Group, Wachovia Corporation - Charlotte

·        Bernie Hargadon, Community Leader - Charlotte

·        Stella Hastie, Educator - Charlotte

·        Cammie Harris, Business Leader and Former Chair of the Mecklenburg County Democratic Party - Charlotte

·        Parks Helms, Mecklenburg County Commissioner - Charlotte

·        Ashley Hogewood, Attorney and Former Chair of Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools - Charlotte

·        Mary Klenz, Community Leader - Charlotte

·        Hugh McColl, Retired Chairman, Bank of America - Charlotte

·        Louise McColl, Business Leader - Charlotte

·        Violeta Moser, Marketing Consultant - Charlotte

·        Cyndee Patterson, Former Member of the Charlotte City Council and Former Mayor Pro Tem of Charlotte - Charlotte

·        Pat Patton, First Vice Chair, Mecklenburg County Democratic Party - Charlotte

·        Dolores Peregrino, Nurse - Charlotte

·        Jose Posada, President, College Democrats, UNC Charlotte - Charlotte

·        Betty Rash, Community Leader - Charlotte

·        Jennifer Roberts, Chair, Mecklenburg County Board of Commissioners - Charlotte

·        Ruth Shaw, Former CEO, Duke Power - Charlotte

·        Brenda Stevenson, Pastor, New Outreach Christian Center - Charlotte

·        Robert Stolz, CEO, Wurth Group North America and Former Chairman of the North Carolina Economic Development Board - Charlotte

·        Johnny C. Taylor Jr, President & CEO, Black Web Enterprises Inc. - Charlotte



Montgomery County

·        Robert Jordan, Former North Carolina Lt. Governor - Mt. Gilead


New Hanover County

·        Frank Block, Former State Senator - Wrightsville Beach

·        Wendy Block, Community Leader - Wrightsville Beach

·        Julia Boseman, State Senator - Wilmington

·        W.M. Mullinix, Sr., North Carolina Aeronautical Council - Wilmington

·        Scott Warner, Community Leader - Wilmington


Orange County

·        Jan Allen, Co-Founder of North Carolina Lillian's List - Chapel Hill

·        Noel Bynam, Student Leader - Chapel Hill

·        Mike Nelson, Orange County Commissioner - Hillsborough

·        Hank Patterson, Attorney - Chapel Hill

·        Jane Smith Patterson, Former Secretary of North Carolina Department of Administration and Former Science & Technology Advisor to Governor Jim Hunt - Chapel Hill

·        Melisse Shaban, CEO, Chrysallis - Chapel Hill

·        Amanda Vaughn, Director, Heels for Hillary, UNC '09 - Chapel Hill

·        Rev. Harold Wallace, Retired Vice Chancellor of UNC Chapel Hill - Chapel Hill

·        Sarah West, Business Leader - Chapel Hill


Pitt County

·        Tom Taft, Former State Senator - Greenville

·        Allen Thomas, Land Developer and Technology Entrepreneur - Greenville

·        Dean Westmoreland, Former Chair, Cleveland County Board of Elections and Former Chair, Cleveland County Democratic Party - Greenville


Robeson County


05/05/08 note-  release cut off-seeking full release