PRESS RELEASE from Hillary Clinton for President Exploratory Committee
June 14, 2007
Contact: Press Office

Maryland Leaders Endorse Clinton
Maryland House of Delegates Speaker Pro Tem Jones, More Than 40 Other Officials And Community Leaders Back Clinton

Hillary Clinton received the endorsements of Maryland House of Delegates Speaker Pro Tem Adrienne Jones and more than 40 Maryland officials and community leaders today.

"As one of eight women Speaker Pro Tems in the country, I am very excited to support Hillary Clinton for President of the United States and help her make history," Jones said. "However, I am even more excited about her vision for our country and her ability to lead from her first day in the White House."

"Hillary's experience is unmatched. From day one as President, she'll win friends for America and make progress for Maryland's working families," said State Senator and former U.S. Ambassador to Romania Jim Rosapepe.

Today's endorsers join Governor Martin O'Malley, Senator Barbara Mikulski and Congressman Dutch Ruppersberger in supporting Hillary, and illustrate her growing support in Maryland.

Leading Marylanders Endorsing Hillary Today:

Maryland House of Delegates Speaker Pro Tem Adrienne Jones
Former U.S. Senator Joseph Tydings
Former Rep. Charles Thomas McMillen
Former Lieutenant Governor Kathleen Kennedy Townsend
Lilo Schifter, Former Member, Maryland Public Service Commission
Maryland House of Delegates Deputy Speaker Pro Tem Carolyn Howard
Maryland Senate Assistant Deputy Majority Whip James Rosapepe, Former Ambassador
Senator Jennie Forehand
Delegate C. Sue Hecht
Delegate Sheila Hixson
Delegate Benjamin Kramer
Delegate Shane Pendergrass
Former Senator Mary Boergers
Former Senator Leonard Teitelbaum
Former Delegate Gene Counihan
Former Delegate Cheryl Kagan
Former Delegate Adrienne Mandel
Former Delegate Carol Petzold
Former Delegate Mary Louise Preis
Former Chair of the Maryland Democratic Party Wayne Rogers
Garrett Park Mayor Carolyn Shawaker
Kensington Mayor Peter Fosselman
Town of Somerset Councilmember Jeffrey Slavin
Former Rockville Mayor Steven Van Grack
Montgomery County At-Large Councilmember Nancy Floreen
Montgomery County At-Large Councilmember Duchy Trachtenberg
Montgomery County Councilmember Valerie Ervin
Montgomery County Board of Education Member Patricia O'Neill
Prince George's County Clerk of the Circuit Court Peggy Magee
Former President of the Montgomery County Council Ruth Spector
Former Montgomery County Councilmember Esther Gelman
Former Prince George's County Councilmember Thomas Hendershot
Former US Ambassador Richard Schifter, Former Counselor, National Security Council, and Former President, Maryland State Board of Education
Former US Ambassador Cynthia Schneider
Former US Ambassador Thomas Siebert
Former FCC Commissioner Susan Ness
Former Deputy Under Secretary of USDA Mary Ann Keeffe
Kamala Edwards, President, Indian American Leadership Council
Reverend Zina Pierre
Ann Balcerzak, Activist
Linda Bogard, Activist
Carole Fischer, Activist
Valerie Palmer, Activist
Hadassah Thursz, Activist
Beth Wong, Activist