PRESS RELEASE from Dodd for President

Leadership and Organization in Place Across the State for Final Caucus Push

For Immediate Release
NOVEMBER 28, 2007
Colleen Flanagan
 Taylor West

DES MOINES – Presidential candidate Chris Dodd’s Iowa campaign is heading into the caucus homestretch with a strong organization and a state and county leadership team experienced and ready for the final caucus push.

“Chris Dodd’s campaign is a perfect example of the kind of organization Iowans have come to appreciate and expect,” said Bob Skow, Co-Chair of Dodd’s Iowa Leadership Team.  “This campaign prides itself on retail campaign events that allow Iowans to ask questions and hold a conversation with the candidate and on its hard-working, strong ground organization across the state.  Chris Dodd is the kind of results-based leader with both the experience and the electability to ensure we have a Democrat in the White House in 2009.”

“To have the support of so many Democrats across this state who have lent their leadership, their knowledge about Iowa and the caucuses, and their political and personal guidance throughout this process is truly humbling,” said Dodd.

“And there are countless other Democrats I’ve met along the way who are looking for political leadership to bring people together, end the bickering and divisive discourse we’ve become accustomed to, and help get this country back on track. I want to thank Iowa Democrats for their encouragement and their support, and I’m looking forward to meeting – and winning the support of – many more before January 3rd.”

The campaign’s state and county leadership team is listed below.

State Leadership Team

§         Sen. Jeff Danielson of Waterloo, State Co-Chair – Iowa Senate President Pro Tempore

§         Fred Hubbell of Des Moines, State Co-Chair – Chair, Iowa Power Fund

§         Bob Skow of Dallas Center, State Co-Chair – CEO, Independent Insurance Agents of Iowa and Former State Representative

§         Sen. Tom Hancock of Epworth – Iowa State Senator

§         Rep. Ray Zirkelbach of Monticello – Iowa State Representative

§         Sheriff Paul Fitzgerald of Colo – Story County Sheriff

§         Bob Fulwider of West Liberty – President, Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America

§         Steve Jackson of Cedar Rapids – Founder, The Phoenix Club

§         Jack Reed of Ottumwa – President, Iowa Professional Fire Fighters Association

§         Alan Steckman of Mason City – Former Iowa State Representative candidate

§         Terry Stewart of Dubuque – Chair, Dubuque County Democrats

County Leadership Team

Polk County
Dick Murphy, Co-Chair – President, Polk County School Board; Returned Peace Corps Volunteer
Rose Mary Pratt, Co-Chair – Democratic Activist and Former Staff Member, Office of Governor Tom Vilsack
John Tekippe, Co-Chair – President, IAFF Local 4
John Feller – Former VFW Post Commander
Joanne Tubbs - Teacher

Linn County
Rick Scofield, Co-Chair – President, IAFF Local 11
Jerry Vuichard, Co-Chair – Business Manager, IBEW Local 1362
Kay Hale, Co-Chair – Financial Secretary, Linn County Democrats Central Committee
Joe Stutler – Veterans Caucus Chair, Linn County Democrats Central Committee
Kay Jackson – Director of Nursing and Democratic Activist

Scott County
Jose Bucksbaum, Chair – Affirmative Action Chair, Scott County Democrats Central Committee

Johnson County
Pat Harney, Co-Chair – Johnson County Supervisor
Eric Nurnberg, Co-Chair – President, IAFF Local 610
Linda Louko – Member, “The 49” grassroots political organization

Black Hawk County
Frank Magsamen, Co-Chair – Black Hawk County Supervisor
Tom Powers, Co-Chair – IAFF Local 66
Frank Thompson, Co-Chair - Professor of Economics, Treasurer of the United Faculty at the University of Northern Iowa

Dubuque County
Helene Magee, Co-Chair – County Publicity Co-Chair, Dubuque County Democrats Central Committee
Terry Stewart, Co-Chair – Chair, Dubuque County Democrats
Tom Ready – Former President, IAFF Local 353

Story County
Mike Bryant, Chair – President, IAFF Local 625

Woodbury County
Rob Marqusee, Chair – Woodbury County Director of Rural Economic Development

Pottawattamie County
Justin James, Chair – President, IAFF Local 15
Edward Bremmer – Former Iowa State Representative
Dan McGinn – Pottawattamie County Assistant County Attorney

Clinton County
Joel Atkinson, Chair – Vice President, IAFF Local 609

Cerro Gordo County
Alan Steckman, Co-Chair – Former State Representative Candidate; Former Postmaster of Mason City
Jerry Taylor, Co-Chair – Activist and Member, Cerro Gordo County Democrats Central Committee
Jay Urdahl, Co-Chair – Chair, Cerro Gordo County Board of Supervisors; President of the Board of Directors, North Iowa Community Action Organization
Phil Dougherty – Cerro Gordo County Supervisor; District Two President, Iowa State Association of Counties
Michael Herman – Former President of the North Iowa Nine Labor Council

Des Moines County
Diane Ehret, Co-Chair – Teacher and Democratic Activist
Al Pealer, Co-Chair – Veteran and Former VFW Post Commander
Dave Warth – VFW Post Commander

Dallas County
Bob Skow, Chair – CEO, Independent Insurance Agents of Iowa and Former State Representative

Warren County
Kevin Middleswart, Co-Chair – Warren County Supervisor
Scott Voogd, Co-Chair – Teacher and Democratic Activist

Lee County
Bill Olmsted, Chair – Keokuk City Councilman

Webster County
Mary B. Wilson, Chair – Retired Teacher and Former Member, Webster County School Board

Marshall County
Wayne Sawtelle, Chair – Vice Chair, Marshall County Democrats Central Committee and Former Political Director, Iowa Professional Fire Fighters

Muscatine County
Mark Butterworth, Chair – Small Business Owner and Retired Teacher

Wapello County
Marlin Hesse, Chair – Democratic Activist

Boone County
Justin Adams, Chair – President, IAFF Local 678

Benton County
Larry Schmidt – Treasurer, Benton County Democrats; Executive Board, Hawkeye Labor Council

Marion County
David Isgrig, Chair – Superintendent, Pleasantville Schools

Bremer County
Christine Rediske, Co-Chair – Secretary, Bremer County Democrats Central Committee
Karen Thalacker, Co-Chair – Vice Chair, Bremer County Democrats Central Committee
Ann Dirksenfahrer – Former Secretary, Bremer County Democrats Central Committee

Fayette County
Howard Bird, Co-Chair – Veterans’ Issues Activist
Rosie Bird, Co-Chair – Democratic Activist

Jones County
Gary Hart, Chair – Chair, Jones County Democrats

Poweshiek County
Sarah Adams, Co-Chair – Former Chair, Poweshiek County Democrats Central Committee
Delores Mulvihill, Co-Chair – Former Member, Iowa Democratic Party Central Committee

Cedar County
Don Place, Co-Chair – Veterans Issues Activist
Tammy Place, Co-Chair – Vice Chair, Cedar County Democrats Central Committee

Carroll County
Mary C. Baumhover, Chair – Carroll County Democrats Central Committee

Washington County
Terry Philips – Steering Committee Member, Iowa Democratic Party Veterans Caucus

Floyd County
Delbert Vokes, Chair – Former Mayor of Floyd

Jefferson County
Jennifer Lunsford, Chair – Chair, Jefferson County Democrats
Jennifer Hawthorne – Author

Henry County
Martha Dahlin, Chair – Former Member, Henry County Democrats Central Committee

Hardin County
Rocky Lavalle, Chair – Mayor of Iowa Falls

Plymouth County
Ron Stopak, Chair – Vice Chair and Former Chair, Plymouth County Democrats

Chickasaw County
Paul Swenson, Chair – Retired Teacher and Democratic Activist

Crawford County
Marcia Bachmann – Chair, Crawford County Democrats
John Lawler – Crawford County Supervisor

Harrison County
Lydia Caldeira, Chair – Small Business Owner and Democratic Activist

Keokuk County
Rod Hill, Chair – Teacher and Democratic Activist