PRESS RELEASE from the Republican Party of Iowa
Contact:  Mary Tiffany   For Immediate Release
June 13, 2007
Iowa Straw Poll: The Starting Line-Up

The Republican Party of Iowa is looking forward to a strong and solid line-up at the Iowa Straw Poll.  This afternoon, both Mike Huckabee and Tommy Thompson announced they are currently planning on participating in the Iowa Straw Poll on Saturday, August 11, in Ames, Iowa.  With their announcement, the field of candidates participating in the event now includes Senator Sam Brownback, John Cox, former Governor Mike Huckabee, Congressman Duncan Hunter, Congressman Ron Paul, former Governor Mitt Romney, Congressman Tom Tancredo and former Governor Tommy Thompson.

Despite two candidates choosing to skip the Iowa Straw Poll, these eight candidates recognized the importance of the Straw Poll and the political process here in Iowa.  More importantly, these candidates and their staffs have shown their dedication and commitment to not only Iowa, but the Republican Party.

Chuck Laudner, the Executive Director of the Republican Party of Iowa, feels confident the event will be a success.  "The commitments from these eight candidates assures Iowa will have an impact with it's first in the nation status.  They will have the opportunity to connect with thousands of prospective Iowa caucus-goers, as well as receive a great deal of national and local media attention.  When I look at this line-up, I am convinced they will build the largest gathering of Republicans ever."

Also attending this year's Iowa Straw Poll will be Wayne LaPierre, CEO and Executive Vice President of the National Rifle Association; former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich; and radio personality Neal Boortz who will be leading a rally for the FairTax Association.

Additionally, this past weekend, the State Central Committee of the Republican Party of Iowa decided that the following announced presidential candidates will appear on the Iowa Straw Poll ballot:

Sam Brownback
John Cox
Jim Gilmore
Rudy Giuliani
Mike Huckabee
Duncan Hunter
John McCain
Ron Paul
Mitt Romney
Tom Tancredo
Tommy Thompson

Any other credible candidate will be considered when appropriate.