Beltway Happenings
March 12, 2005-The Democratic National Committee's Commission on Presidential Nomination Timing and Scheduling held its first meeting and considered the history, goals and challenges of ithe party's nominating process.  (Above) Former Secretary of Labor Alexis Herman and Congressman David Price (D-NC) chair the Commission.  (Below) Former New Hampshire Gov. Jeanne Shaheen and Iowa attorney Jerry Crawford are among the members of the 40-person Commission.  The Commission has two New Hampshire and two Iowa representatives who are keeping a close watch to ensure that those states' first in the nation status is not threatened.  
There are many considerations, legal and otherwise, that limit what the Commission can do.


Copyright © 2005  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action l>