PRESS RELEASE from Romney for President, Inc.
July 17, 2007
CONTACT: Romney Press Shop 


Boston, MA Today, Governor Mitt Romney announced that 51 women will be joining Romney for President as members of the South Carolina chapter of Women for Mitt.  This group will provide valuable help in organizing grassroots support and communicating Governor Romney's positions and ideas to women in the Palmetto State.

Ann Romney will be launching the South Carolina chapter of Women for Mitt with a two-day bus tour across the state. "This is an amazing group of women who have come together to support our campaign.  I look forward to traveling through South Carolina, meeting new people and talking about my husband and our family."  Beginning today, Mrs. Romney will be making stops in Greenville, Columbia, Charleston, Bluffton and Hilton Head Island.

"Our Women for Mitt team in South Carolina is a showcase of diverse, strong and experienced community leaders.  They will be powerful surrogates for our message of conservative change in Washington through strengthening our military, economy and families," said Governor Romney.

Leading Governor Romney's South Carolina Women for Mitt Team are four Co-Chairs:  Republican National Committeewoman Cindy Costa, Debbie DeMint, Former South Carolina First Lady Ann Edwards and State Representative Nikki Haley.

In a joint statement, the Co-Chairwomen said, "We believe Governor Romney is the strongest candidate to be President of the United States.  With his message of strength and optimism, he is the candidate America needs at this critical time.  The South Carolina Women for Mitt are excited to work alongside Governor Romney as he pursues our nation's highest office."

Romney For President South Carolina Women For Mitt Team Co-Chairs:

Cindy Costa, Republican National Committeewoman
Debbie DeMint
Ann Edwards, Former South Carolina First Lady
Nikki Haley, State Representative

Romney For President South Carolina Women For Mitt Team Steering Committee:

Aiken County:

Anderson County: Charleston County: Cherokee County: Dorchester County: Florence County: Greenville County: Horry County: Kershaw County: Lancaster County: Lexington County: Newberry County: Orangeburg County: Pickens County: Richland County: Spartanburg County: York County: