PRESS RELEASE from Romney for President, Inc.
August 30, 2007
CONTACT: Romney Press Shop 


Boston, MA Governor Mitt Romney today named the Romney for President Florida Health Care Professionals Coalition.  Led by Statewide Chairs Frank Farmer, Patrick Hutton and Carl Lentz, this group of health care professionals will work to ensure Florida voters know that Governor Romney is the candidate who supports free-market health care reform that will enable more Americans to become insured through the private market.

"Health care leaders in Florida and across the nation understand the critical need to make health insurance more available and more affordable for all Americans," said Governor Romney.  "The answer is not more government, but more innovation.  We must harness the power of free market reforms to provide private insurance options to our citizens without a tax increase and without a big government takeover."

In a joint statement, the Coalition Chairmen said, "As Governor of Massachusetts, Mitt Romney applied conservative principles to address the health insurance crisis in his state and is widely recognized as a national innovator in this field.  As evidenced by the reform plan he presented to the Florida Medical Association last week, Governor Romney is the best equipped candidate to reform our health care system while protecting American taxpayers from a one-size-fits-all program that would result in increased spending and greater regulatory burdens."

Romney For President Florida Health Care Professionals Coalition Chairs:

Frank Farmer, M.D., Volusia County
Patrick Hutton, M.D., Clay County
Carl Lentz, M.D., Volusia County

Romney For President Florida Health Care Professionals Coalition:

Dennis Agliano, M.D., Hillsborough County
John Armstrong, M.D., Alachua County
Jack Ayala, Broward County
Stephen Baker, M.D., Miami-Dade County
David Becker, M.D., Pinellas County
Ashley Booth, M.D., Duval County
Ed Caron, D.C., Orange County
Akshay Desai, M.D., Hillsborough County
Neal Dunn, M.D., Bay County
Mutaz Habal, M.D., Hillsborough County
W. Alan Harmmon, M.D., Duval County
David Henderson, Volusia County
Humberto J. Hernandez, M.D., Miami-Dade County
James Howell, M.D., Palm Beach County
E. Coy Irvin, M.D., Santa Rosa County
Barbara Jaehne, Au.D., Sarasota County
Judi Katz, Collier County
Sue Kennedy, R.N., Pinellas County
Robert Lastomirsky, M.D., Sarasota County
Gregory Lignelli, M.D., Lee County
Miguel Machado, M.D., St. Johns County
Dr. Luis Martinez, D.M.D, P.A, Pinellas County
John Montgomery, M.D., M.P.H., F.A.A.F.P., C.P.E., C.H.I.E., Duval County
Ryan O'Reilly, E.M.T., Pasco County
Jeff Parks, M.D.,Volusia County
David Paulus, M.D., Alachua County
Thomas Peters, M.D., Duval County
Linda Pilkington, R.N., Polk County
Alan Pillersdorf, M.D., Palm Beach County
Craig Rappel, Indian River County
Manny Rose, M.D., Pinellas County
Thomas G. Salmon, Jr., D.D.S, M.S., Okaloosa County
Audrey Seay, Charlotte County
Joe Sharpe, Wakulla County
Jack Spring, Jr., Collier County
Gary Winchester, M.D., Leon County
Jerry Woelfel, Sarasota County
Boston, MA Governor Mitt Romney today announced that more than 40 women will be joining Romney for President as members of the Florida chapter of Women for Mitt.  This group will be instrumental in organizing grassroots supporters, as well as communicating Governor Romney's positions and ideas on issues that are important to women in the Sunshine State and across the country.

"I thank each member of this impressive group of women for their early support of my campaign and their commitment to bringing necessary change to Washington by strengthening our military, economy and families," said Governor Romney.  "We are building a strong grassroots organization in Florida, and these individuals will be critical to growing our network of support in the Sunshine State."

Leading Governor Romney's Florida chapter of Women for Mitt as Honorary Chairs are former Lt. Governor Toni Jennings, U.S. Congresswoman Ginny Brown-Waite, State Representatives Jennifer Carroll, Anitere Flores, Trudi Williams and Marti Coley and former Florida Secretary of State Glenda Hood.  The chapter's Statewide Chairs are Bev Kilmer and Joyce Malone.

"As a proven leader with a track record of success in both the private sector and in public service, Governor Romney is the best equipped candidate to lead our nation as we face a new generation of global and domestic challenges," said former Lt. Governor Jennings.  "The Florida Women for Mitt team looks forward to sharing Governor Romney's conservative principles and optimistic vision for America's future with voters across the state."

To hear audio of why former Lt. Governor Jennings is supporting Governor Romney, click here.  You can also listen by calling 641-715-3801, and entering this access code: 1063099.

Additionally, women serving as County Co-Chairs for the campaign include Clay County Co-Chair Marge Hutton, Hernando County Co-Chair Laurie Pizzo, Hillsborough County Co-Chair Anne Voss, Jackson County Co-Chair Debbie Dennis, Lee County Co-Chair Shirley Gerstenberger, Leon County Co-Chair Mandy Clark, Martin County Co-Chair Mary Lynn Magar, Miami-Dade County Co-Chair Theresa Ashkar, Miami-Dade County Co-Chair Andreina Figueroa, Palm Beach County Co-Chair Fran Hancock, Pasco County Co-Chair Ann Hildebrand, Sarasota County Co-Chair Lorraine White and Sumter County Co-Chair Ellen Hoffman.

Romney For President Florida Women For Mitt Honorary Chairs:

Former Lt. Governor Toni Jennings, Orange County
U.S. Congresswoman Ginny Brown-Waite, Hernando County
State Representative Jennifer Carroll, Clay County
State Representative Anitere Flores,Miami-Dade County
State Representative Trudi Williams, Lee County
State Representative Marti Coley, Jackson County
Former Florida Secretary of State Glenda Hood, Orange County

Romney For President Florida Women For Mitt Statewide Chairs:

Bev Kilmer, Gadsden County
Joyce Malone, Seminole County

Romney For President Florida Women For Mitt Steering Committee:

Debbie Andrews, Hernando County
Maureen Bailey, Volusia County
Pat Bailey, St. Johns County
Yvonne Boice, Palm Beach County
Melinda Brett, Pinellas County
Barbara Cable, Lee County
Connie Cestari, Palm Beach County
Kelly Clem, Hillsborough County
Kristin Collins, Brevard County
Debbie Cox, Hillsborough County
Norma Lee Fisher, Collier County
Nina Godwin, Bay County
Lynnette Hardy, Martin County
Susan Hernandez, Broward County
Barbara Jaehne, Sarasota County
Chris Jan, Santa Rosa County
Mel Jurado, Hillsborough County
Lillian Knudson, Hernando County
Jenni LeBlanc, Hillsborough County
Cindy Lignelli, Lee County
Cheryl Magnes, Santa Rosa County
Nancy Peek McGowan, Duval County
Jan Meekcoms, Pinellas County
Melinda Auten Meikle, Indian River County
Lubby Navarro, Miami-Dade County
Alyse O'Neill, Collier County
Patti Page, Charlotte County
Nancy Patterson, Orange County
Linda Pilkington, Polk County
Naomi Roberts, Clay County
Sharon Rousey, Seminole County
Audrey Seay, Charlotte County
Elizabeth Sullivan, Manatee County
Candace Wixman, Highlands County
Betsy Young, Duval County