PRESS RELEASE from Nevada Democratic Party


January 13, 2007


Las Vegas, NV Underscoring a strong national commitment to Nevada as the second caucus state, U.S. Senator Harry Reid, U.S. Rep. Shelley Berkley, AFSCME International President Gerald W. McEntee, SEIU International Secretary/Treasurer Anna Burger and AFL-CIO Executive Vice President Linda Chavez-Thompson and other state elected officials today announced the establishment of the Nevada Caucus Commission.  They also announced dates for candidate debates and forums over the next year.

To date there are two candidate forums and three debates scheduled in Nevada:

     February 21 forum in Carson City sponsored by AFSCME

     March 24 health care forum co-sponsored by SEIU and the Center for American Progress

     Mid-August debate focused on Western regional issues to be held in Reno

     November 2 debate sponsored by the Nevada State Democratic Party at UNLV

     January 15 debate co-sponsored by the Caucus of African American Nevadans and Impacto, the political arm of the Latin Chamber of Commerce in Las Vegas

"The Democratic Party's ability to win presidential campaigns in the future will hinge on our ability to win voters in the West," said U.S. Senator Harry Reid. "The members of this commission will strongly encourage all presidential candidates to actively campaign throughout Nevada. They will help presidential candidates identify and engage all of our different constituencies in the state."

Nevada will hold a caucus, the second contest in the Democratic Party's nominating process on January 19, 2008. The forum and debate schedule will expose candidates to a cross section of the diverse issues and population of not only the state of Nevada, but the entire Western United States.

"Both of these debates will be opportunities for Nevada to shine in the national spotlight," said Representative Shelley Berkley. "We hope that all of the presidential candidates and national media outlets will attend the debates and write about the issues important to Nevadans and all Westerners."

The members of the Nevada Caucus Commission are:

Chairman Tom Collins, co-chair
Senator Harry Reid, co-chair
Congresswoman Shelley Berkley, co-chair

Senator Ken Salazar, U.S. Senator, Colorado
Colorado Governor Bill Ritter
Rep. Mike Honda, DNC Vice-Chair, Co-Chair of Asian American Pacific Islander Leadership Council
Linda Chavez-Thompson, DNC Vice-Chair, AFL-CIO Executive Vice President
John Wilhelm, UNITE HERE President, Hospitality Industry
Gerald McEntee, AFSCME President
Reggie Weaver, NEA President
Anna Burger, SEIU International Secretary/Treasurer, Chair, Change to Win Coalition Raul Yzaguirre, past president, National Council of La Raza

Attorney General Catherine Cortez Masto
Secretary of State Ross Miller
State Treasurer Kate Marshall
State Controller Kim Wallin
Senate Minority Leader Dina Titus, DNC Committeewoman
Senator Steven Horsford, DNC Committeeman
State Senator Terry Care
Nevada Speaker Barbara Buckley
Assembly Majority Leader John Oceguera
Assemblywoman Sheila Leslie
Assemblyman Bernie Anderson
Assemblyman David Parks
Assemblyman Ruben Kihuen
Las Vegas Mayor Oscar Goodman
Clark County Commissioner Rory Reid
Clark County Commissioner Yvonne Atkinson Gates, former DNC Black Caucus Chair
Clark County Commissioner Chris Giunchigliani
Washoe County Commissioner Pete Sferrazza
Former Senator Richard Bryan
Former Governor Bob Miller
Former Nevada Speaker Richard Perkins
Former Nevada Speaker Joe Dini
Former Las Vegas Mayor Jan Jones
Former Attorney General Frankie Sue Del Papa
Former University Regent Jill Derby
Teresa Benitez-Thompson, State Party Vice-Chair
Adriana Martinez, former State Party Chair
Tony Sanchez, Chairman, Delegate Selection Committee
Liz Foley, Clark County Democratic Party Chair
Chris Wicker, Washoe County Democratic Party Chair
Leslie Sexton, Lyon County Democratic Party Chair
Mike Sloan, Caucus Commission Finance Chair
Billy Vassiliadis, President/CEO, RR Partners
Danny Thompson, AFL-CIO Executive Secretary/Treasurer
Geoconda Arguello-Kline, Culinary 226 President
Dr. Robert Fowler, Victory Baptist, Founding Member and past president, CAAN