PRESS RELEASE from Republican National Committee

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                               
August 9, 2008  

CONTACT: Press Office


WASHINGTON Today, RNC Chairman Robert M. “Mike” Duncan, Platform Committee Chairman U.S. Rep. Kevin McCarthy (CA-22) and Platform Committee Co-Chairman U.S. Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC) announced the Subcommittee structure and leadership for the 2008 Platform Committee.
“This esteemed group of Republican leaders and national convention delegates will be integral to ensuring that our Party creates a forward-looking platform that is rooted in our core values and principles,” Duncan said.

“Expanding Opportunity to Promote Prosperity” Subcommittee:
The “Expanding Opportunity to Promote Prosperity” Subcommittee is responsible for economic policy, including technology and innovation, taxes, trade, economic development, labor, and related issues.  It will be led by Subcommittee Chairman, Mississippi Gov. Haley Barbour, who served as Chairman of the Republican National Committee from 1993-1997 and served as a Subcommittee Chairman for the Platform Committee in 2004.  After inheriting a budget hole of more than $720 million, Barbour balanced the Mississippi state budget without raising taxes by restraining spending and controlling debt, subsequently resulting in record economic growth.
Barbour will be joined by two Subcommittee Co-Chairmen, Santa Mendoza of Connecticut and Tony Sutton of Minnesota.  Mendoza, who served on the Platform Committee in 2000, is an attorney representing small businesses and a leader in the Hispanic Bar Association.  Sutton is the CEO of Baja Sol Restaurants, a growing fresh Mexican food franchisor.  He previously served as deputy auditor for the State of Minnesota and Executive Director of the Republican Party of Minnesota .
“Defending the Nation, Securing the Peace” Subcommittee:
The “Defending the Nation, Securing the Peace” Subcommittee is responsible for national security, including foreign policy, military personnel, defense policy, homeland security, border security/immigration, and related issues. Subcommittee Chairman U.S. Rep. Heather Wilson (NM-01) has served as a leader on the House Select Committee on Intelligence and the House Armed Services Committee.  She is a U.S. Air Force Academy graduate and a Rhodes scholar.
Wilson will be joined by Subcommittee Co-Chairmen Scott Lingamfelter of Virginia and Joe Nuñez of Colorado.  Lingamfelter has been a member of the Virginia House of Delegates since 2001.  A retired Army Colonel and combat veteran with 28 years of service, he commanded combat units and served as staff in the highest levels of the Pentagon.  He is currently the president of the Commonwealth Homeland Security Foundation (CHSF).  Nuñez, a retired U.S. Air Force lieutenant colonel with 21 years of service, also served in the Colorado House of Representatives from 1998 to 2001.  He served as a Subcommittee Co-Chairman on the Platform Committee in 2000.
“Reforming Government to Serve the People” Subcommittee:
The “Reforming Government to Serve the People” Subcommittee is responsible for government reform and spending, including fiscal responsibility and the federal budget, limited government, entitlement reform, domestic disaster response, and related issues.  The Subcommittee will be led by Georgia State Rep. Mark Burkhalter. In 2005, Burkhalter was elected with bipartisan support of his colleagues to serve as the first Republican in 134 years to Speaker Pro Tem, the second-ranking position in the Georgia House of Representatives.
Burkhalter will be joined by Subcommittee Co-Chairman Priscilla Rakestraw of Delaware, who is the longest serving member of the RNC, a former elected official, and has been a delegate to the past nine Republican National Conventions.  Rakestraw is a community leader and fundraiser for nonprofit organizations.
“Guaranteeing Energy Independence and a Cleaner Environment” Subcommittee:
The “Guaranteeing Energy Independence and a Cleaner Environment” Subcommittee will handle policy relating to growing our American energy sources and protecting the environment.  Subcommittee Chairman Ann McLaughlin Korologos of Washington, D.C., served as Secretary of Labor and undersecretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior during the Reagan administration.  She currently serves as chairman of the board for the RAND Corporation, in addition to other corporate and civic responsibilities. 
Korologos will be joined by Subcommittee Co-Chairman Trey Grayson of Kentucky.  Upon his election in 2003, Grayson was the youngest secretary of state in the nation.  He currently serves as president-elect of the National Association of Secretaries of State and previously served two terms as the chairman of the Republican Association of Secretaries of State.
“Protecting Our Families, Preserving Our Values” Subcommittee:
The “Protecting Our Families, Preserving Our Values” Subcommittee is responsible for criminal justice policy issues and social policy issues such as culture of life, traditional marriage, the right to bear arms, and related matters. It will be led by Subcommittee Chairman Jane Orie, Pennsylvania state Senate’s Majority Whip.  Orie was elected to the state Senate in 2001 after serving as a state Representative since 1996.  She is a former criminal prosecutor and has been a leader on pro-life and pro-family issues. 
Orie will be joined by Subcommittee Co-Chairman Mike Fair, who has served as a South Carolina state Senator since 1996.  Fair previously served as a state Representative from 1984-1995 and as a member of the Greenville County Council from 1976-1982.
Advancing a Healthier and More Competitive America” Subcommittee:
The “Advancing a Healthier and More Competitive America” Subcommittee is responsible for policy relating to health care reform, as well as primary, secondary, and higher education.  It will be led by Subcommittee Chairman Mary Mertz of Ohio, an attorney in Columbus, Ohio, who has served as a senior policy adviser to Gov. George Voinovich and Lt. Gov. Mike DeWine. 
Mertz will be joined by Subcommittee Co-Chairman Steve King of Wisconsin, who is a Republican National Committeeman and successful businessman.  King has been a delegate to every national Republican National Convention since 1980.