from the Oklahoma Republican Party

Banner Year for OKGOP
by Chairman Gary Jones

Thank you for your help over the past few weeks.  With the help of Oklahomans like you, Oklahoma Republicans had a very successful election.

John McCain won every county in only one state - Oklahoma.  His 65.64% share of the vote is highest in the nation.  Senator Jim Inhofe was elected to his third full term in the U.S. Senate.  Our four great Republican Members of Congress were reelected by large margins.

Thanks to Dana Murphy's hard work and great experience, there will again be three Republicans on the Corporation Commission.  Dana beat Jim Roth, the Democrat appointed to hold the seat until this election, due to her superior qualifications and clean campaign.  Incumbent Republican Corporation Commissioner Jeff Cloud received more votes than any other Oklahoman in yesterday's election.

The Oklahoma State Senate will be controlled by Republicans for the first time in history.  Tulsa County voters said they wanted Dan Newberry by a 2-1 margin over his Republican-turned-Democrat opponent in the 37th Senate District, and 57% of the voters in the 21st Senate District chose Jim Halligan, the former OSU president, as their next Senator.

Republicans in the Oklahoma State House of Representative gained 4 seats, and will have a record 61 seats when the new session convenes in January.  While all of our Republican incumbents were reelected, Eddie Fields beat an incumbent Democrat in District 36, which was a rematch of his 2006 race; Corey Holland (House 51), Charles Ortega (House 52), Harold Wright (House 57) and Mike Christian (House 93) picked up open seats formerly held by Democrats.   Corey Holland ran for the seat in 2004 and Mike Christian ran for the House in 2006.

While I share your disappointment about the national results, it's important to remember that Oklahoma Republicans gained ground in all aspects of state government, which better positions us to elect a Republican Governor in 2010.

Yours in Victory,
Gary Jones