PRESS RELEASE from Iowa Democratic Party

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                       
July 1, 2008 
Contact: Brooke Borkenhagen

IDP Announces Iowa Delegation to the National Convention

Iowa Democrats Are United Behind Senator Barack Obama

Des Moines – Following the successful 2008 State Convention, the Iowa Democratic Party announced Iowa’s delegation to the Democratic National Convention.  The convention will take place August 25–28, 2008 and will be held in Denver, Colorado.
Iowa Democrats will be represented by 57 delegates and 8 alternates.  The delegation includes 7 delegates under the age of 25 and a diverse group of Iowans from all across the state. 
“Iowa Democrats are united behind our great nominee, Senator Barack Obama,” said Scott Brennan, Iowa Democratic Party Chairman and chair of the Iowa delegation.  “Our delegation is excited to formally nominate Senator Obama at what will be a historic and energizing national convention.  Senator Obama is going to help Iowa Democrats win up and down the ticket in November.”
The Iowa delegation will be chaired by Iowa Democratic Party Chairman Scott Brennan. 
Iowa Democrats also generously raised $6,100 to benefit Iowa flood and tornado victims over the weekend.  The money will be donated to the American Red Cross.
At-Large Delegates
Jan Bauer of Ames
Faith Nalani Bromwich of North Liberty
Mary Campos of Des Moines
Catherine Crist of Cedar Rapids
Sandra Lee Galer of Cedar Rapids
Robert (RJ) Jarvis of Oskaloosa
Paula Martinez of Carlisle
Michelle Ray-Michalec of Cedar Rapids
Carlie Tartakov of Ames
Tammy Wetjen-Kesterson of Marengo

District Level Delegates
Nancy Bobo of Des Moines
Timothy Bottaro of Sioux City
Stephanie Cosgrove of Cherokee
Machelle Crum of Newton
Eddie Diaz of Perry
George Dixon of DeWitt
Angel Gonzalez of Iowa City
Molly Grady of Marshalltown
Tom Harrington of Ames
Danny Homan of Des Moines
Stephanie Imhoff of Ames
Joe Judge of Albia
Jacob Krapfl of New Vienna
Kathleen Krehbiel of Solon
Wayne Laufenberg of St Donatus
Helen McClain of Dubuque
Helen Miller of Fort Dodge
Richard Myers of Iowa City
Jordan Oster of Des Moines
Sandra Pope of Ottumwa
Arlene Prather-O’Kane of Cedar Falls
David Redlawsk of Iowa City
Alan Schroeder of Chester
Ione Shadduck of West Des Moines
Donald Shaffer of Ottumwa
Kathleen Weber of Dubuque
Peggy Whitworth of Cedar Rapids
Jason Winter of Sibley
Merci Wolff of Sioux City
Party Leaders and Elected Official Delegates
Des Moines Mayor Frank Cownie
State Representative Ro Foege
Lieutenant Governor Patty Judge
Attorney General Tom Miller
Governor Tom Vilsack
Former First Lady Christie Vilsack

Congressman Leonard Boswell
Congressman Bruce Braley
Scott Brennan, Iowa Democratic Party Chair
Governor Chet Culver
First Lady Mari Culver
Treasurer Mike Fitzgerald
Senate Majority Leader Mike Gronstal
Senator Tom Harkin
Congressman Dave Loebsack
Richard Machacek, DNC Member
Sandy Opstvedt, DNC Member
Sarah Swisher, Iowa Democratic Party Vice-Chair

Tod Bowman of Maquoketa
Steve Chasse of Des Moines
Bill Gluba of Davenport
Steven Kraus of Carroll
Ebony Luensman of Marion
June Owens of Norwalk
Allyson Story of Cedar Rapids
Caroline Marsha Wildin of LuVerne

National Convention Standing Committee Members
Rules Committee
Ray Brown of Des Moines
Luann Pedrick of Urbandale
Credentials Committee
Cheryl Fasano of Des Moines
Evan Anderson of Cedar Rapids
Platform Committee
John Norris of Des Moines
Kathy Carlson of Kalona