Democratic National Committee PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release
December 10, 2004

Contact: Tony Welch

McAuliffe Names 2008 Nominating Calendar Commission

Alexis Herman and Rep. David Price to Serve as Co-Chairs

Washington, D.C. Former U.S. Secretary of Labor Alexis Herman and North Carolina Congressman David Price will serve as Co-Chairs of the Democratic National Committee's Commission on Presidential Nomination Timing and Scheduling DNC Chairman Terry McAuliffe announced today in a meeting of the DNC Executive Committee.  The Commission will study the scheduling of Democratic presidential primaries and caucuses and make recommendations for the 2008 nominating process.

In July, the 2004 Democratic National Convention passed a resolution calling for the creation of the Commission. In carrying out its work, the Commission will examine all reform proposals both incremental and substantive as well as outline steps for how those proposals would be implemented.  The Commission is made up of a mix of DNC members, elected officials, representatives of State Parties, academics, organized labor officials, grassroots activists and other Party leaders.

"Over the next year, this diverse group of individuals with different backgrounds, perspectives and experiences on this issue will conduct the vital work of reviewing every aspect of the Party's nominating schedule to develop a 2008 primary and caucus calendar."  McAuliffe said. "I am confident that under the leadership of Secretary Herman and Congressman Price, the Commission will develop recommendations that fully embrace the Party's commitment to openness and fairness for voters and candidates and help to produce the strongest possible nominee."

Herman served as Chief of Staff and Deputy Chair of the DNC under former Chairman Ron Brown and was later the Chief Executive Officer of the 1992 Democratic National Convention in New York.  She also served as Assistant to the President and Director of Public Liaison in the Clinton White House before making history as the first African American to serve as Secretary of Labor with her appointment in 1997.  In 2001, Chairman McAuliffe nominated her to serve on the DNC.

Congressman Price is about to enter his ninth term representing the North Carolina Triangle area of Chapel Hill/Raleigh/Durham.  Congressman Price is a lifelong educator and has been a political science professor at Duke University since 1973.  He is also a former executive director and chairman of the North Carolina Democratic Party.  Earlier in his career, Price was the staff director for the DNC Commission on Presidential Nomination (The Hunt Commission), one of the Party's last major blue ribbon commissions that reviewed the delegate selection process.  Congressman Price is the author of four books on the American political party system and Congress.

The commission is expected to hold its first meeting sometime early next year and will complete its work and issue its report and recommendations to the DNC by December 31, 2005.

A complete list of the commission's members is attached.

Commission on Presidential Nomination Timing and Scheduling
(Appointments by DNC Chairman Terrance R. McAuliffe)


Hon. Alexis Herman
Fmr. U.S. Secretary of Labor
Hon David Price
U.S. Representative, North Carolina
Aida Alvarez
Fmr. Administrator, U.S. Small Business Administration

Vida Benavides

Donna Brazile
DNC At-Large Memeber & Fmr. DNC Rules & Bylaws Cmte. Co-Chair

Hon. Michael Coleman
Mayor of Columbus, Ohio

Roxanne Conlin
Fmr. President, American Trial Lawyers Association

Jerry Crawford
Fmr. State Chair, Iowa State Party

Hon. Lois DeBerry
DNC At-Large Member & Tennessee House Speaker Pro Tempore

Debbie Dingell
Michigan Democratic National 

Maria Echaveste
DNC At-Large Member

Cuauhtemo "Temo" Figueroa
Administrator, AFSCME Council 18

Hartina Flournoy
DNC At-Large Member & Fmr. DNC Rules & Bylaws Cmte. Co-Chair

Donald Fowler
DNC At-Large Member & 
Fmr. DNC Chair

Jehmu Greene
President, Rock the Vote

Linda Honold
Chair, Wisconsin State Party

Harold Ickes
DNC At-Large Member

Carol Khare
Vice Chair, South Carolina State Party &
Co-Chair, DNC Rules & Bylaws Cmte.

Hon. Carl Levin
U.S. Senator, Michigan

Hon. Blanche Lincoln
U.S. Senator, Arkansas

Bill Lynch
Fmr. DNC Vice Chair

Hon. Kendrick Meek
U.S. Representative, Florida

Steve Murphy

Spencer Overton
Associate Professor of Law, The George Washington University Law School

Jim Pederson
Chair, Arizona State Party

Hon. Ed Rendell
Governor of Pennsylvania

James Roosevelt, Jr.
DNC At-Large Member & Co-Chair, DNCRules and Bylaws Cmte.

Delores Sibonga
Fmr. Seattle City Council

Hon. Jeanne Shaheen
Fmr. Gov. of New Hampshire

Hon. Terry Shumaker
Fmr. Ambassador to Trinidad & Exec. Dir., New Hampshire Education Association

Hon. Kathleen Sebelius
Governor of Kansas

Mike Stratton

Hon. Hilda Solis
U.S. Representative, California

Susan Swecker
Chair, DNC Southern Caucus

John Sweeney
President, AFL-CIO

Hon. Art Torres
Chair, California State Party

Ed Turlington

Hon. Jennifer Veiga
Colorado State Senate

Josh Wachs
DNC Chief Operating Officer