PRESS RELEASE from John Edwards for President, Inc.

May 8, 2007

Kate Bedingfield


Chapel Hill, North Carolina - Senator John Edwards continues to gain support from people across the country, and today the John Edwards for President campaign announced that more than 40 Virginia Democratic leaders endorsed Edwards for president.  These prominent leaders include state House Democratic Leader Ward Armstrong, numerous state legislators, a former President of the NAACP's Virginia State Caucus and a number of Virginia Democratic Party officials. These leaders join Virginia Democratic Party Chairman Dick Cranwell, who endorsed Edwards in February, in supporting Edwards for President.

"John Edwards will restore our standing in the world and lift up all Americans and Virginians," said Armstrong. "As we work to take back the Virginia state House, I am proud to have Senator Edwards as a partner in bringing hope and prosperity to all Americans."

"When I endorsed John in February, I said that it was because Democrats need to put our best candidate forward in 2008, and that John Edwards was the fastest horse in the race," said Cranwell.  "I am proud to see that so many strong Virginia Democrats agree."

State Senator Janet Howell endorsed Edwards saying, "He has specific plans to end the war, provide universal health care, fight global warming and strengthen the middle class.  Edwards is exactly the kind of leader we need."

The Virginia Democrats endorsing Edwards for president are:

Members of the Virginia General Assembly
Democratic Leader of the Virginia House of Delegates Ward Armstrong
Delegate Bill Barlow
Delegate Chuck Caputo
Delegate Bud Phillips
Delegate Jim Shuler
Delegate Vivian Watts

Senator John Edwards
Senator Edd Houck
Senator Janet Howell
Senator Phil Puckett
Senator Roscoe Reynolds

Former Delegates and Candidates
2006 11th Congressional District Democratic Candidate Andrew Hurst
Former Delegate Marian Van Landingham
Former Delegate Barnie Day
Virginia House of Delegates Candidate Eric Ferguson

Local Elected Officials
Arlington County Treasurer Frank O'Leary
Arlington County Board Member Chris Zimmerman
Arlington County School Board Chair Libby Garvey
Arlington County School Board Member Ed Fendley
Arlington County School Board Member Frank Wilson
Mayor of Charlottesville David Brown
Hampton City Treasurer Molly Joseph Ward
Smyth County Clerk of the Court Jimmy L. Warren
Washington County Treasurer Frank W. Parker
Former Arlington County School Board Chair & Current Arlington County Board Candidate Mary Hynes

Community & Party Leaders
Former Virginia State Conference of the NAACP President Emmitt Carlton

5th Congressional District Democratic Committee Chair, DPVA Steering Committee Member & Albermarle County Democratic Committee Chair Fred Hudson
8th Congressional District Democratic Committee Chair & DPVA Steering Committee Member Margo E. Horner
Accomack County Democratic Chair Frank Moore
Arlington County Democratic Chair Peter Rousselot
Bath County Democratic Chair Joe Wood
Carroll County Democratic Chair Jonathan McGrady
City of Buena Vista Democratic Chair Wilford Ramsey
Fairfax City Democratic Committee Chair Dan Drummond
Fairfax County - Lee Magisterial District Democratic Chair Hugh Robertson
Fairfax County - Mount Vernon Magisterial District Democratic Chair Scott Surovell
Fairfax County - Providence Magisterial District Democratic Chair Linda Byrne
Fairfax County - Sully Magisterial District Democratic Chair Mary Lee Cerillo
Floyd County Democratic Chair Kimberly Chiapetto
Franklin County Democratic Chair Joe Stanley
Matthews County Democratic Chair Jen Little
Lancaster County Democratic Chair Donna Thompson

Former Chair, Falls Church Democratic Committee Edna Frady
Immediate Past Chair, Charlottesville Democratic Committee Lloyd Snook