Fred Thompson-Organization, California
revised July 20, 2007

Executive Director - Mike Richman - Deputy political director at Johnson Clark and Associates.  In 2006 he served as deputy campaign manager on Steve Poizner for Insurance Commissioner and managed Michelle Steel's campaign for the California Board of Equalization.

Fundraising Consultant - Nichole Zamora

Chairman State Sen. Tom McClintock
(announced Oct. 30, 2007)  Republican nominee for Lt. Governor in 2006.  Candidate for Governor in the historic 2003 recall election.  Republican nominee for state Controller in 2002; lost by very narrow margin.  Elected to the State Senate in 2000.  Served a second stint in the Assembly from 1996-2000.  Director of Economic and Regulatory Affairs for the Claremont Institute's Golden State Center for Policy Studies.  Republican nominee for state Controller in 1994.  Director of the Center for the California Taxpayer, a project of the National Tax Limitation Foundation, 1992-94.  Republican nominee for Congress in California's 24th CD (Beilensen) in 1992.  Elected to the Assembly in 1982, at age 26, and served through 1992.  Chief of staff to Senator Ed Davis. B.A. in political science from UCLA.  more

Co-Chairs (announced Oct. 30, 2007)
Senator Sam Aanestad has served in the California State Legislature since 1998.  He was named 2006 California Charter School Legislator of the Year and while in the Senate has fought for new job and business creation.

Senator Jim Battin is a former local television executive who was first elected to the State Assembly in 1994 before being elected to the Senate in 2000.  A firm advocate for government reform and accountability, Senator Battin serves as the Vice-Chair of the Senate Elections, Reapportionment and Constitutional Amendments Committee.

Senator George Runner was first elected to the Senate in 2004.  He and his wife, California Assemblywoman Sharon Runner, are the primary authors of California's Jessica's Law which created some of the toughest sex offender management and control laws in the nation.  Senator Runner currently serves as the Chair of the Senate Republican Caucus.

Assemblyman John Benoit is a 31-year veteran of law enforcement who was first elected to the California State Assembly in 2002.  Named the 2003 Outstanding Legislator of the Year by the California School Boards Association, he currently serves as the Chief Republican Whip.

Assemblyman Tom Berryhill was first elected to represent the 25th Assembly District in 2006.  A strong advocate for California's public schools and universities, he currently serves as Chair of the Assembly Human Services Committee.

Assemblyman Chuck Devore served as a Reagan White House appointee in the Pentagon from 1986 to 1988 where he worked with the U.S. Congress to advance the President's foreign and military policy.  First elected to Congress in 2004, he serves as a Republican Whip and was recently named Legislator of the Year by the California State Commanders Veterans Council.

Assemblyman Bill Emmerson was elected to the California State Assembly in November 2004.  He serves as the Vice-Chair of the Business and Professions Committee and sits as a member of the Assembly Approrpriations Committee and the Assembly Health Committee.

Assemblyman Martin Garrick served in numerous capacities in the Reagan Administration including as the Deputy Senate House Liaison.  Serving the 74th district, Garrick is a strong advocate for tax and regulation reform.

Assemblyman Kevin Jeffries served as Chairman of the Republican County of Riverside County for seven years.  Jeffries has 29 years of volunteer firefighting experience and over 19 years of experience in local California government.

Assemblyman Rick Keene began his service in the California State Assembly in 2002 where he has served in numerous leadership positions.  A former Republican Whip and Vice Chair of the Committee on Water, Parks and Wildlife, Keene also served as the lead Republican on Budget for three years.

Assemblyman Alan Nakanishi is the former Mayor of Lodi, California, where under his leadership Lodi was heralded as a model city for energy planning.  A former Lodi City Councilman and practicing physician, Assemblyman Nakanishi was first elected to represent the 10th District in 2002.
Copyright ©  2007  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action