Fred Thompson-Organization, Tennessee
updated November 16, 2007

Honorary Chair
Former Senator Howard Baker - Senior counsel to the law firm of Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz.  Served as the 26th U.S. Ambassador to Japan, appointed in 2001.  Chief of staff to President Ronald Reagan, 1987-88.  Elected to the U.S. Senate from Tennessee in 1966 and re-elected twice; did not seek re-election in 1984.  Senate minority leader 1977-81; majority leader 1981-85.  Unsuccessful candidate for the Republican nomination for President in 1980.  Unsuccessful candidate for U.S. Senate in 1964.  Law degree from the University of Tennessee Law College.  Served in the U.S. Navy 1943-46.  Author of four books: No Margin for Error (1980); Howard Baker's Washington (1982); Big South Fork Country (1993) and Scott's Gulf (2000).

Honorary Co-Chairs (13)
Senator Lamar Alexander, a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, the third ranking Republican on the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee, and member of the Senate Rules Committee.

Senator Bob Corker, a member of the Senate Committee on Foreign Relations, Senate Armed Services Committee, and the Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources.

Senator Bill Frist, the immediate past Senate Majority Leader.

Congressman Marsha Blackburn (TN-7), a member of the House Energy Committee, as well as a member of the House Commerce Committee.

Congressman David Davis (TN-1), a member of the House Small Business Committee, House Education and Labor Committee, House Homeland Security Committee, and the Republican House Policy Committee.

Congressman Jimmy Duncan (TN-2), the ranking member of the House committee on Transportation and Infrastructure's Highways and Transit Subcommittee, a member of the House Natural Resources Committee, and the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee.

Congressman Zach Wamp (TN-3), the Ranking Member of the Legislative Branch Subcommittee on Appropriations, as well as a member of the House Appropriations Committee.

Congressman Van Hilleary (TN-4), served in the United States Congress from 1995 to 2003.

Congressman Bill Jenkins (TN-1), served in the United States Congress from 1997 to 2007.

Congressman Ed Bryant (TN-7), served in the United States Congress from 1995 to 2003.

Governor Don Sundquist, served in the United States Congress from 1983-1995 prior to serving as the Governor of Tennessee from 1995-2003.

Governor Winfield Dunn, served as Governor of Tennessee from 1971-1975.

Lieutenant Governor Ron Ramsey, the current Lieutenant Governor of Tennessee and Speaker of the Tennessee State Senate.

Additionally, Senator Thompson has the support of 61 honorary state chairs (Tennessee state Senators and Representatives).
see release >

Tennessee Finance Leadership Team (announced Oct. 17, 2007)
Chair - State Representative Beth Harwell, a former Tennessee Republican Party Chairman and Bush pioneer
Copyright ©  2007  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action