Rudy Giuliani-Organization, Hawaii
updated September 9, 2007

RUDY GIULIANI PRESIDENTIAL EXPLORATORY COMMITTEE, INC.  [Filed papers with New York State on Nov. 10, 2006 and with the FEC on Nov. 20, 2006]
Chair Patricia Saiki 
(announced Sept. 9, 2007)  Republican nominee for Governor of Hawai'i in 1994, but lost to Lt. Gov. Cayetano.  Administrator of the Small Business Administration under Republican President George H.W. Bush.  Republican nominee for U.S. Senate in 1990 but lost to Sen. Akaka.  Elected to Congress in 1986 after losing special election, and served two terms, 1987-91; the only Republican to serve Hawaii as a U.S. Representative in Congress.  Member of the Hawaii state senate, 1974-82; member of the Hawaii state house of representatives, 1968-74.  B.S. from the University of Hawaii, Manoa.
Vice Chair Sam Aiona
(announced Sept. 9, 2007)  Currently executive director of the Hawaii Office of Community Services.  Chairman of the Hawaii Republican Party through mid-2007.  Loan officer for mortgage broker.  Ran for Manoa-Makiki City Council seat in 2002.  Elected to the Hawaii State House in 1996 defeating a Democratic incumbent, but defeated in 1998 re-election bid and in 2000 race.  Worked on many campaigns in the 1980s and early 1990s.  Graduate of the University of Hawaii with a degree in political science.
Vice Chair Charles Djou
(announced Sept. 9, 2007)  Djou represents the area from Waikiki to Hawaii Kai on the Honolulu City Council. He was first elected in 2002 and re-elected to a second four-year term in 2006. Before joining the City Council, Charles served in the Hawaii State House, where he was the Republican Floor Leader.
Copyright © 2007  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action