Rudy Giuliani-Organization, Missouri
updated December 5, 2007

RUDY GIULIANI PRESIDENTIAL EXPLORATORY COMMITTEE, INC.  [Filed papers with New York State on Nov. 10, 2006 and with the FEC on Nov. 20, 2006]
Chair U.S. Rep. Jo Ann Emerson (MO-8)
(endorsement announced Oct. 22, 2007)  Represents 28 counties in Southern Missouri; elected to Congress in Nov. 1996, following the death of her husband Bill Emerson.  Resident of Cape Girardeau.  Previous experience includes senior vice president of public affairs for the American Insurance Association, director of state relations and grassroots programs for the National Restaurant Association, and deputy communications director for the National Republican Congressional Committee.  B.A. in political science from Ohio Wesleyan University, 1972.
Co-Chair House Majority Leader Steven Tilley 
(announced Oct. 23, 2007)  Represents part of Perry, St. Genevieve and St. Francois Counties (District 106) in the Missouri House of Representatives; elected to the House in 2004.  Tilley is an Optometrist.  B.S. from Southeast Missouri State University in 1994 and Doctorate of Optometry from the University of Missouri-St. Louis School of Optometry in 1998.
National Co-Chair/liaison to the U.S. Senate  U.S. Sen. Kit Bond (R-MO)
(announced Nov. 2, 2007)  Elected to the U.S. Senate in 1986; reelected in 1992, 1998 and 2004.  Elected Governor of Missouri in 1972 at age 33; defeated in re-election bid in 1976, but won a second term in 1980.  Elected State Auditor in 1970.  Assistant Attorney General in Missouri.  Practiced law in Washington, D.C. before returning home to Missouri.  Clerk to the Chief Judge of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals in Atlanta.  Graduated from Princeton University in 1960 and received his law degree from the University of Virginia.  Sixth generation Missourian, born in St. Louis and grew up in Mexico, MO, where he still resides.

endorsements (announced Nov. 12, 2007)
Representative Kenny Jones - Elected to the House in 2004, was the Moniteau County Sheriff for the last 20 years and spent 11 years with the Missouri Highway Patrol as a Trooper.  Jones served as the 2004 Bush-Cheney Campaign’s Law Enforcement Coalition Chairman, is a former President of the Missouri Sheriff’s Association and is a current member of the National Rifle Association.

Representative Ed Robb - Elected to the House in 2004, is President of Edward H. Robb and Associates.  Former Director of the University of Missouri-Columbia’s State and Regional Fiscal Studies Unit, and Director of the Economic Policy and Analysis Research Center in Columbia, Missouri.

Representative Kevin Threlkeld - Elected to the House in Nov. 2002.  In addition to his legislative duties, Rep. Threlkeld is a primary care physician.

more endorsements (announced Dec. 5, 2007)
Senator Kevin Engler
Senator Engler was first elected to the Senate in 2004, representing the 3rd District which includes Carter, Reynolds, Iron, Washington, St. Francois, Ste. Genevieve and South Jefferson Counties. He previously served one term in the House of Representatives. He also served six years as Mayor of Farmington, Missouri.

Senator John Griesheimer
A native of Missouri, Senator Griesheimer represents parts of Franklin, Warren and West St. Louis counties. Elected to the Missouri Senate in 2002, Griesheimer previously served in the Missouri House of Representatives from 1992 to 2002.

Representative Steve Hobbs
Representative Hobbs, elected in 2002, represents parts of Audrain, Boone, Callaway and Monroe Counties in the House of Representatives. Hobbs serves as a Deputy Majority Whip. Hobbs is president of Hobbs Farms, Inc., a company he started with his father in 1997.

Representative Timothy Jones
Representative Jones represents part of St. Louis County. He was elected to the House in November 2006. In addition to his legislative duties, Representative Jones is currently employed as an attorney and is a member of several organizations including Most Sacred Heart Church, SSM St. Joseph’s Hospital Foundation and the West St. Louis County Lions Club.

Representative Mike Parson
Representative Parson, elected in 2004, represents Polk and Cedar Counties in the House of Representatives. Parson is the former Polk County Sheriff and served six years in the United States Army. Parson is a member of the American Legion, Optimist Club, Missouri Farm Bureau, Missouri Cattlemen’s Association, Missouri Sheriffs Association, the Missouri Association of Counties for Budget Procedure, the U.S. Department of Justice Advisory Committee for C.J.I.S. and the National Sheriffs Association.

Representative Ryan Silvey
Representative Silvey, elected in 2005, represents part of Clay County in the House of Representatives. Silvey is a mortgage advisor and a former legislative aide to Senator Kit Bond. He is a member of the Northland Regional Chamber of Commerce and attends Antioch Bible Baptist Church in Kansas City.

Representative Joe Smith
Representative Smith, elected in 2002, represents part of St. Charles County, including the cities of Weldon Spring and St. Peters, in the House of Representatives. He is an Account Representative in the business office at Lindenwood University and a member of Saint Joseph Catholic Church. He is also a member of the St. Peters Chamber of Commerce and the St. Charles City Chamber of Commerce.

Representative Rick Stream
Representative Stream represents the Kirkwood and Des Peres areas of St. Louis County in the Missouri House of Representatives. He was elected to the House in November 2006.

Representative Marilyn Ruestman
Representative Ruestman, elected in 2002, represents portions of McDonald and Newton Counties. During her first term, she was elected Treasurer of the Freshman Class of the 92nd General Assembly, President of the Women Legislators of Missouri and was appointed to the Missouri Women’s Council by the Governor. In her second term, Marilyn was elected by her colleagues to the Leadership position of Majority Caucus Secretary.

Mayor Patti York
Mayor York was elected Mayor of St. Charles in 1999 and reelected in 2003 and 2007. York is also an Adjunct Professor of Corporate Communications at Lindenwood University. She teaches various classes, including Corporate Communications, Mass Communications, Literature, Writing Skills, Speech, Business Writing and Research, and Research Writing at the Undergraduate and Graduate levels.
Copyright © 2007  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action