Americans for Fair Taxation-Organization
"Formed in 1995 as a 501 (c)(4) nonprofit, nonpartisan, grassroots organization solely dedicated to replacing the current tax system."
updated December 7, 2007

Board of Directors
Founder, Chairman Leo E. Linbeck, Jr.
Founder, Finance Chairman Robert C. McNair
Founder, Director Jack T. Trotter
Director Andrew J. Clark, III
Director Howard W. Horne, Sr.

Note: Polyansky left in late Oct. 2007 to join the Huckabee campaign, and the group cut back its efforts very significantly.
Chief Operating Officer David Polyansky
Attorney at McFall, Sherwood & Breitbeil in Houston.  Served in Iraq in 2004-05 with the 1st Battalion, 23rd Marines, a Houston-based Marine Corps Infantry Battalion, in Al Anbar.  Attorney practicing commercial litigation defense in Houston.  Experience includes campaign manager for an initiative campaign, spokesperson and policy director for a congressional candidate, volunteer for a presidential election, chief of staff for a City of Houston council member, and an account executive with an advertising/public relations agency during law school.  Veteran of the U.S. Marine Corps; served on active duty from 1992-97.  B.S. in political science from the University of St. Thomas and J.D. from the University of Houston Law Center.
National Director of Grassroots Mike Rose
Rose has worked in  positions ranging from volunteer to campaign manager on campaigns across the country, from the local level to presidential.  He also served as the executive director for the Idaho Republican Party, as a legislative staff member to a congressman, and as an associate with a public relations/communications agency.  B.S. degree in political science and international relations from Boise State University.
National Director of Communications Ken Hoagland
"Veteran of many state and national grassroots issues campaigns. He began his public policy career working for a governor of Texas on border issues, has headed a Nader aviation safety group, lobbied for the elderly in Washington, D.C., and directed the national campaign to repeal the Catastrophic Care Act through overwhelming grassroots pressure. He helped win comprehensive tort reforms in Texas, works for school choice options for parents, and helped change the Texas Constitution to allow for greater coffee and chocolate imports to the Port of Houston."

Heather Buchanan - Grassroots Regional Field Coordinator
Sean Matula - Grassroots Field Coordinator
Josh Sanders - Grassroots Field Coordinator
Angie Choueifati - Grassroots Event Coordinator
Aaron Schutte - Grassroots Special Projects Coordinator
Diana Lowe - Director of Special Projects
Cheri Craig - Project Manager
Kay Morton - Director of Quality Assurance
John Nothdurft - Press Coordinator
Andrea Poindexter - Executive Assistant
Paige Flint - Administrative Assistant II
Patricia Wallace - Receptionist
Vickie Brunet - Director of Human Resources
Doug Ripley - Controller

Kevin McCann - Summer Intern
Geoff Rowson - Summer Intern

State Chairman Brian Kennedy
Attorney affiliated with the Davenport law firm of Gallagher, Millage & Gallagher, P.L.C.; resident of Bettendorf.  Served as chairman of Sen. Bill First's VOLPAC (announced July 13, 2006).  Candidate for the the Republican nomination in Iowa's 1st CD in the June 2006 primary (announced April 2005).   In 2003, founded Campaign of One, a Republican committee dedicated to creating a new generation of political entrepreneurs in Eastern Iowa.  A co-founder of Progress for America, a national grassroots issue advocacy organization working to support President Bush's legislative agenda.  After Alexander left the 2000 race Kennedy joined the McCain campaign as national political consultant.  National political director on Lamar Alexander's 1999-2000 presidential campaign; started as political director of Alexander's PAC in Sept. 1997.  Executive director of the Republican Governors Association.  Chairman of the Republican Party of Iowa starting in early 1995.  Campaign manager on Iowa Gov.Terry Branstad's 1994 re-election campaign.  Graduated from Iowa State University and Drake University Law School.  Grew up in Eastern Iowa.
State Director Mark Lucas
A small business owner, entrepreneur, and a student of business management at the University of Iowa.  Lucas also serves in the Iowa National Guard and is a training officer for Charlie Company, 1-168th Infantry.  Elected to serve on the Wilton, Iowa City Council at age 19 and two years later was appointed mayor pro tem.  Serves on the Republican State Central Committee for the 2nd District.
Field Director Todd Versteegh
Before joining, Todd was a technician for Mediacom Communications in Iowa City.  He has served as co-chair and chairman of the Johnson County Republican Central Committee.
Field Director Michael Studdert
Extensive experience in Texas Democratic politics.  Most recently, he served as deputy treasurer for the Democratic Party’s nominee for Texas governor, Chris Bell.  He has held leadership positions in city, county, and state election campaigns for various candidates such as Congressman J. J. “Jake” Pickle and the Honorable Justice Raul Gonzalez.
Copyright © 2007  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action