PRESS RELEASE from John McCain 2008 - The Exploratory Committee


Arizona Senator’s Common Sense Conservative Values Attract Local Leaders

For Immediate Release                                                                                                          Contact: Danny Diaz
Monday, February 26, 2007                                                                                                               703-650-5550

ARLINGTON, VA – U.S. Senator John McCain’s presidential exploratory committee today announced that conservative and grassroots leaders will join with current and former Republican legislators to make up the Arizona Senator’s leadership team in Minnesota.

The team will help rally support and provide leadership to Senator McCain’s exploratory committee in the state.

Mayor Dave Kleis of St. Cloud spoke to McCain’s unique qualifications and appeal to Minnesota voters.  “John McCain has an amazing story of service to our country,” said Kleis.  “Senator McCain is a straight talker on the issues and that makes recruiting Minnesota supporters for his effort that much easier.”

Jane Stewart, a Washington County Republican activist and secretary of the Sixth Congressional District Republicans, commented on Senator McCain’s conservative record.  “I’m proud to be on the McCain team,” said Stewart.  “Senator McCain’s common sense conservative principles will prove to be popular with Republican voters in our state.”

Senator McCain welcomed the support of his Minnesota Leadership Team.  “Having this kind of support in the various communities of Minnesota means a great deal,” said Senator McCain.  “These are dedicated Americans and I look forward to joining them in working toward a more dependable federal government based on the conservative principles we share.”



Jim Abeler
State Rep., Anoka

Bill Belanger
Fmr. State Senator, Bloomington

Tony Bennett
County Commissioner, Ramsey County

Charlie Berg
Fmr. State Senator, Chokio

John Berns
State Rep., Wayzata

DeEtta Bilek
Chair, Wadena County Republicans

Dave Bishop
Fmr. State Rep., Rochester

Joel Carlson
Fmr. State Rep., Moorhead

Tony Cornish
State Rep., Good Thunder

Ray Cox
Fmr. State Rep., Northfield

Carleton Crawford
Chair, Congressional District 5 Republicans

Steve Dille
State Senator, Dassel

Chuck Dimler
Fmr. State Rep., Chanhassen

Ron Eibensteiner
Fmr. Republican State Party Chairman

Dennis Frederickson
State Senator, New Ulm

Pat Garofalo
State Rep., Farmington

Steve Gottwalt
State Rep., St. Cloud

Larry Grewach
Chair, House District 64A Republicans

John Gronewald
Southwest Minnesota State University College Republicans

Jim Gustafson
Fmr. State Senator, Duluth

Rod Hamilton
State Rep., Mountain Lake

John Himle
Fmr. State Rep., Bloomington

Tad Jude
Fmr. State Senator and Rep., Maple Grove

Dave Kleis
Mayor and Fmr. State Senator, St. Cloud

Roger Knauss
Chair, Senate District 15 Republicans

Cal Larson
Fmr. State Senator and Rep., Fergus Falls

Ted Lovdahl
Chair, Congressional District 8 Republicans

Cal Ludeman
Fmr. State Rep., Tracy

Teresa Lynch
Fmr. State Rep., Andover

Mike McGinn
Fmr. State Senator, Eagan

Bert McKasy
Fmr. State Rep., Mendota Heights

Brendon McKeon
Chair, Carlton County Republicans

Lyle Mehrkens
Fmr. State Senator and Rep., Red Wing

Geoff Michel
State Senator, Edina

Connie Morrison
Fmr. State Rep., Burnsville

Scott Newman
Fmr. State Rep., Hutchinson

Ed Oliver
Fmr. State Senator, Deephaven

Bernie Omann
Fmr. State Rep., St. Joseph

Tony Onnen
Fmr. State Rep., Cokato

Dennis Ozment
State Rep., Rosemont

Jerry Paar
Co-Chair, Senate District 41 Republicans

Sydney Pauly
Fmr. State Rep., Eden Prairie

Neil Peterson
State Rep., Bloomington

Linda Presthus
Co-Chair, Senate District 41 Republicans

Art Seaberg
Fmr. State Rep., Eagan

Denny Schulstad
Fmr. City Councilor, Minneapolis

Craig Shaver
Fmr. State Rep., Wayzata

Ron Sieloff
Fmr. State Senator and Rep., St. Paul

Dean Simpson
State Rep., Perham

Jane Stewart
Secretary, Congressional District 6 and Senate District 56 Republicans

Steve Sviggum
State Rep., Kenyon

Jan Sweeney
Deputy Chair, Congressional District 4 Republicans

Barb Sykora
Fmr. State Rep., Excelsior

Andy Van Dam
Vice-Chair, Congressional District 7 Republicans