PRESS RELEASE from John McCain 2008

Major General Hultman & Colonel Day Lead State Advisory Committee

For Immediate Release
Thursday, April 12, 2007                  
Contact: Danny Diaz
ARLINGTON, VA – U.S. Senator John McCain’s campaign today unveiled the Iowa Veterans Advisory Committee, which is comprised of many of Iowa’s most decorated veterans.  The advisory committee will be chaired by Major General Evan “Curly” Hultman of Waterloo and Medal of Honor Recipient Colonel Bud Day, a Sioux City native, who will serve as the committee’s honorary chair.

“During a lifetime in public service, John McCain has demonstrated that he is prepared to be a strong leader for our nation,” said Major General Curly Hultman, who served in World War II.  “We are fortunate that John McCain is ready again to answer America’s call to serve.”

“Having stood side-by-side with John McCain on the battlefield, I know that he has the character and will to lead this great country,” said Colonel Bud Day, who served with Senator McCain in Vietnam.  “John McCain is the Commander-In-Chief our military needs during this generational struggle against global terrorism.”

The advisory committee will provide strategic and organizational support for the campaign, in addition to reaching out to the veteran’s community in Iowa.  The committee has representatives from World War II, Korean War, Vietnam War, and Iraq War.

Senator McCain expressed the utmost appreciation for the support of his fellow veterans.  “I am humbled to have the support of these brave individuals who have admirably served our country,” said Senator McCain.  “I look forward to their counsel and assistance as we continue to build a strong Iowa grassroots organization.”



Colonel Bud Day (Ret.) – Honorary Chair

Major General Evan Curly Hultman (Ret.) – Chair

George Anderson

Harold Butcher

Earl Draayer

Brigadier General Russ Eggers (Ret.)

David Elwell

Major General Merrill B. Evans (Ret.)

Lieutenant Colonel Les Folwell

Colonel Chuck Larson, Sr. (Ret.)

Tom Mack

Gene Madsen

Brian Miller

Jerry Moorehead

John Nieland

Reynold Peterson

Brigadier General Maurice Phillips (Ret.)

Lieutenant Colonel Dick Rattray (Ret.)

Lieutenant Colonel Frank Shaw (Ret.)

Brandon Shepherd

Commander Larry Spencer (Ret.)

Brigadier General W.L. "Bill" Wallace (Ret.)

Major General Gary Wattnem (Ret.)

Captain Pete B. Welch (Ret.)

Chad Workman