PRESS RELEASE from John McCain 2008
For Immediate Release
Thursday May 3, 2007
Contact: Danny Diaz

Campaign Unveils Mississippi Valley Leadership Team

ARLINGTON, VA - U.S. Senator John McCain's presidential campaign today announced the Mississippi Valley Leadership Team in advance of the Arizona Senator's return to eastern Iowa next week.

This leadership team constitutes the campaign's county chairs from Dubuque County south along the Mississippi River to the Missouri border. Included in the group are elected officials, longtime Republican Party activists, and other Iowa volunteers who are energized by Senator McCain's common sense conservative message.

"Senator McCain is dedicated to fighting terrorism and has been a determined advocate for a strong foreign policy that will allow us to maintain the freedom we enjoy as Americans," said Dubuque County Chair Sandy Moses. "I look forward to working with my fellow Mississippi Valley leaders to spread Senator McCain's positive vision throughout the Hawkeye State."

Scott County Chair Jim Goff cited Senator McCain's experience in supporting his candidacy. "Senator McCain has the experience to tackle the big problems that face our country both abroad and here at home," said Goff. "His consistent, conservative track record makes him the clear choice for Iowans."

This influential leadership team will continue to build on Senator McCain's volunteer grassroots organization in the state.

Senator John McCain expressed his gratitude for the group's strong support. "I am extremely grateful to have this gifted group of Iowans volunteering their time and energy on my behalf," said Senator McCain. "With their help we will continue to grow our strong organization of committed grassroots supporters."


Clinton County
Maurice Griggs - Clinton County Chair & Former Clinton County GOP Central Committee Member

Des Moines County
Joy Menne - Des Moines County Chair

Dubuque County
Sandy Moses - Dubuque County Chair & Dubuque County GOP Treasurer
Barbara Smeltzer - Dubuque County Co-Chair & Former Dubuque County GOP Secretary
Steve Bateman - Dubuque County Co-Chair & Former Dubuque County GOP Chairman
Asbury Mayor Rick Anderson - Dubuque County Mayor for McCain
Dyersville Mayor Jim Heavens - Dubuque County Mayor for McCain
Representative Steve Lukan - Dubuque County Legislator for McCain

Jackson County
Marion "Junior" Miller - Jackson County Chair & Jackson County Chair for 2006 State Senate Candidate
Bellevue Mayor Virgil Murray - Jackson County Mayor for McCain

Lee County
Robert Abel - Lee County Chair & Lee County GOP Central Committee Finance Director

Louisa County
Lee Eutsler - Louisa County Chair

Muscatine County
Dewayne Hopkins - Muscatine County Co-Chair
Jim Ludman - Muscatine County Co-Chair
Don Mead - Muscatine County Co-Chair
Maurene Failor - Muscatine County GOP Activist

Scott County
Sheriff Dennis Conrad - Scott County Honorary Chair
Jim Goff - Scott County Chair
John Bishop - Scott County Co-Chair
James Donnelly - Davenport Precinct Chair
Lauralie Salter - Bettendorf Precinct Chair
Bruce and Susan Boyler - Bettendorf Precinct Co-Chair
Carolyn Peterman - Bettendorf Precinct Co-Chair
Michael Salter - Bettendorf Precinct Co-Chair
Elizabeth McDermott - LeClaire Precinct Co-Chair
Michael Froeschle - LeClaire Precinct Co-Chair