PRESS RELEASE from John McCain 2008


For Immediate Release

Contact: Press Office

Sunday, July 20, 2008

MANCHESTER, NH -- U.S. Senator John McCain's presidential campaign today announced the McCain 2008 Maine leadership team. These statewide and county leaders, representing all sixteen Maine counties, will work to bolster John McCain's support within Maine. John McCain arrives in the state today and will campaign in South Portland on Monday at the Maine Military Museum.

"John McCain's record of putting his country ahead of partisan politics makes him a perfect fit for Maine's discerning voters," said former Governor John R. McKernan, Jr., who serves as Honorary State Chair and is also a former First District Congressman. "McCain shares the priorities of most Mainers. He has plans to lead America to energy independence, create new jobs and expand access to affordable health care. In the months leading up to the election, our Maine leadership team will work on a person-to-person basis to spread John McCain's message of reforming government and building a more peaceful and prosperous America."

In addition to Honorary State Chair McKernan, Senators Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins will serve as State Co-Chairs. House Republican Leader Rep. Josh Tardy (R-Newport) will serve as Maine State Vice Chair. First Congressional District Co-Chairs are former congressman David Emery and longtime Republican activist Jan Staples. In the second Congressional District, the Honorable Richard Bennett, former Senate President, along with State Senator Kevin Raye, will serve as co-chairs.


The Honorable John R. McKernan, Jr., Honorary Chair
Senator Olympia Snowe, Co-Chair
Senator Susan Collins, Co-Chair
Rep. Josh Tardy, Vice Chair
Hon. David Emery, First Congressional District Co-Chair
Jan Staples, First Congressional District Co-Chair
Hon. Richard Bennett, Second Congressional District Co-Chair
Sen. Kevin Raye, Second Congressional District Co-Chair

County Chairs:

Aroostook County Co-Chairs:
Brian Hamel
Sen. Roger Sherman

Androscoggin County Co-Chairs:
Sen. Lois Snowe Mello
Georgia Chomas

Cumberland County Co-Chairs:
Rep. John McDonough, former Mayor of Portland
Rep. Richard Cebra

Franklin County Co-Chairs:
Sen. Walter Gooley
Hon. Charlie Webster, former Senate Republican Leader

Hancock County Co-Chairs:
Sen. Richard Rosen
U.S. Navy Retired Captain Robert Slaven

Kennebec County Co-Chairs:
Hon. Bob Nutting, former State Representative
Denny Keschl, Belgrade Town Manager

Knox County Co-Chairs:
Bill Chapman
Mike McNeil

Lincoln County Co-Chairs:
Les Fossel
Peter Lawrence

Oxford County Co-Chairs:
Diane Jackson
Rep. Sawin Millet, former state Finance Commissioner, Education Commissioner and Commissioner of Administrative & Financial Services

Penobscot County Co-Chairs:
John Cashwell, former Mayor of Bangor and Calais
Hon. Betty Lou Mitchell, former State Senator

Piscataquis County Co-Chairs:
Hon. Paul Davis, former Senate Republican Leader
Sen. Doug Smith

Sagadahoc County Co-Chairs:
Rep. Kerri Prescott
Hon. Mary Small, former Senate Majority Leader

Somerset County Co-Chairs:
Kathy Watson, former Maine Republican Party Chair
Sen. Peter Mills

Waldo County Co-Chairs:
Sen. Carol Weston, Senate Republican Leader
Rep. Mike Thibodeau

Washington County Co-Chairs:
Karen Raye, Republican National Committeewoman
Chris Gardner, Washington County Commissioner

York County Co-Chairs:
Hon. James Libby, former State Senator
Sen. Richard Nass