PRESS RELEASE from John McCain 2008


For Immediate Release
 Contact: Press Office
Sunday, December 9, 2007

ARLINGTON, VA -- U.S. Senator John McCain's presidential campaign today announced its National Hispanic Advisory Board. The advisory board is made up of elected officials, scholars, and church and community leaders. The board will counsel John McCain on issues important to the Hispanic American community and will work to continue to build the campaign's growing grassroots organization across the country.

"John McCain is the only candidate prepared to lead our great nation as commander in chief from day one," said Representative Lincoln Diaz-Balart. "Throughout his career John McCain has shown leadership on issues important to the Hispanic community, including expanding economic prosperity and advancing democracy and freedom around the world. John McCain's leadership on immigration reform proved that while he understands we must secure the borders first, we must also treat all people in our country with compassion."

Representative Illeana Ros-Lehtinen added, "John McCain understands that the Cuban people have been living under tyranny for far too long. John has been a strong supporter of the U.S. embargo and has long been working with us to help bring freedom and democracy to Cuba. We deeply value his commitment and are proud to stand with him."

John McCain thanked Reps. Diaz-Balart and Ros-Lehtinen, along with the advisory board members, adding, "I am proud to have the support of this distinguished group of Hispanic community leaders. I look forward to their support and expertise as I work to take on the tough challenges facing all Americans."


Mayor Carlos Alvarez, Florida
Honorable Lincoln Diaz-Balart, Florida
Honorable Mario Diaz-Balart, Florida
Pastor Mark Gonzalez, Texas
Honorable Manuel Lujan, New Mexico
Mr. Tony Orlando, Florida
Honorable Illeana Ros-Lehtinen, Florida
Mr. Solomon D. Trujillo, Colorado
Major General Freddy Valenzuela, Florida
Honorable Albert C. Zapanta, Texas

Mr. Ruben Alvarez, Arizona
Mr. Greg Celaya, Arizona
Mrs. Veronica Celaya, Arizona
Mr. Blanca Esparza, Arizona
Mr. Jose Esparza, Arizona
Mr. Gary Husk, Arizona
Ms. Alice Lara, Arizona
Mr. Humberto Lopez, Arizona
Mr. Jaime Molero, Arizona
Mrs. Bettina Nava, Arizona
Mr. Andrew Pacheco, Arizona
Mrs. Jessica Pacheco, Arizona
Mr. Jose Rivero, Arizona
Councilman Martin Sepulveda, Arizona
Mr. Leo Cortez, Californi a
Mr. Ben Lubbon, California
Mr. Ryan Morfin, California
Reverend Sam Rodriguez, California
Mr. Jim Serrata, California
Mr. Juan Carlos Benitez, District of Columbia
Reverend Luis Lopez, Florida
Dr. Juan Melgarejo, Florida
Mrs. Ana Navarro, Florida
Mr. John M. Aguilar, Illinois
Mrs. Mary Jo Arndt, Illinois
Mrs. Rose Mary Bombala-Tobais, Illinois
Mr. Noelle Castellanos, Illinois
Mrs. Sunny Chico, Illinois
Mrs. Lydia Gutierrez, Michigan
Mr. Richard Aguilar, Minnesota
Mrs. Zulma Barrios, Nebraska
Mr. Larry Meneses, New York
Mr. Luis Manuel Garcia Passalacqua, Puerto Rico
Mr. John Regis, Puerto Rico
Mr. Raul Lopez, Tennessee
Mr. Robert Amundsen, Texas
Pastor Lynn Godsey, Texas
Mr. Vidal Gonzalez, Texas
Mr. Francisco Hernandez, Texas
Mrs. Becky Armandariz Klein, Texas
Ms. Margaret Martin, Texas
Mr. Manuel Negrete, Texas
Mr. Mario Ramirez, Texas
Ms. Shiree Sanchez, Texas
Dr. Antonio Longo, Virginia