McCain General Election Campaign Organization, Iowa
updated October 9, 2008

McCain-Palin 2008 
Midwest Regional Headquarters: 2775 86th Street, Urbandale, IA 50322  515-418-9270  ...grand opening July 10, 2008
Regional Campaign Manager (Midwest - IL, IA, MO) Gentry Collins
State director on Mitt Romney's Iowa caucus campaign.  Political director at the Republican Governors Association in the 2006 cycle; also did consulting for the Commonwealth PAC and the Massachusetts Republican State Congressional Committee.  Deputy chairman/executive director of the Iowa Republican Party in 2004.  Managed Doug Gross' 2002 campaign for governor.  Ran for State House, 1998.  B.A. in political science from Iowa State University in Ames, 1998.

Iowa State Director Charlie Liebschutz
(announced June 26, 2008)  "He joined the campaign in March 2007 and worked for McCain’s field operation in South Carolina and other states."  Degree in history from Colgate University, 2006.  From Pittsford, NY.

Victory 2008

James Anderson
(announced June 24, 2008)  Director of communications in the Office of Marketing, Communications, and Partnerships for the U.S. Commercial Service within the International Trade Administration at the Department of Commerce.  Prior to working at Commerce, Anderson served at the Treasury Department as media coordinator for the Office of Public Affairs.  A team leader for surrogates in the Office of Public Liaison for the 55th Presidential Inaugural Committee after the 2004 presidential election.  Southern Oregon field director for Victory 2004 as well as Delegate and Caucus Coordinator at the 2004 Republican National Convention.  Bachelor’s degree in public administration from James Madison University, 2003.

Deputy 72 Hour Director
Eric Johansen

Election Day Operations Director
Danny McNamara

 Absentee Ballot/Early Vote Director
Gordon Pennoyer
Deputy director of media operations for the Republican National Convention, started Oct. 1, 2007.  Previously worked in the Alumni & Development office at the Millbrook School in Millbrook, NY.  In the 2004 cycle Pennoyer worked as associate director for operations for the 2004 Republican National Convention in New York City, absentee ballot coordinator for Victory NH (the fall Republican campaign in New Hampshire), and then oversaw the Republican Party's efforts to recruit and coordinate more than 5,000 volunteers for the 2005 Presidential Inaugural Committee.  B.A. in political science from Kenyon College, 2003.

Victory Coalitions Director
Adam Johnson

Victory Offices
Central Iowa
- 2775 86th Street, Urbandale, IA 50322  Contact: Nick Frommelt and Melissa Subbotin

Story County/North Central Iowa - 413 Northwestern Avenue, Ames, IA 50010   Contact: Garrett Payne

North Central Iowa - 505 Main Ave, Clear Lake, IA 50428   Contact: Durham Clawson

Johnson County
- 411 Second Street, Coralville, IA 52241   Contact: Nicholas Karellas

Southwest Iowa - 1851 Madison Avenue, Suite 716, Council Bluffs, IA 51503   Contact: Andrew Northwall    ...grand opening July 28

Northeast Iowa - 2560 Dodge Street, Dubuque, IA 52003   Contact: Nicholas Schadler
Catherine Eng

Eastern Iowa - 1880 E. 54th Street, Davenport, IA 52807   Contact: Amanda Sebastian

Warren County - 1214 North Jefferson Street, Indianola, IA 50125   Contact: Heather Hooper

Cedar Rapids area - 2240 7th Ave East, Suite 5, Marion, IA   Contact: Luke Martz

Marshall County
- 32 West Main Street, Marshalltown, IA 50158   Contact: Luke Hannan

Jasper County - 107 First Ave West, Newton, IA 50208   Contact: Tyler Threadgill

Wappello County - 212 S. Market Street, Ottumwa, IA 52501   Contact: Casey Mills

Northwest Iowa - 419 1st Ave NE, Sioux Center, IA 51250   Contact: Tim Phelps

Western Iowa - 4281 Sergeant Road, Sioux City, IA 51106   Contact: Nathaniel Cram

Black Hawk County - 2307 Falls Ave, Waterloo, IA 50701   Contact: Rachel Larios

Southeast Iowa - 204 E Washington, Mt. Pleasant, IA 52641   Contact: Adam Johnson

Victory 2008 Finance:

Chairman Marvin Pomerantz
Co-Chairman Doug Gross

Republican Party of Iowa 
|  621 East Ninth Street | Des Moines, IA 50309  >
Chairman Stew Iverson
A former State Senator and farmer from Clarion (Wright County).  In 2006 Iverson served as Iowa chair of Gov. George Pataki's 21st Century Freedom PAC.  Elected to the Iowa Senate in 1994, elected Senate Majority Leader in 1996 and served as leader through April 2006; he announced in June 2006 that he woud not seek re-election.  (Represented Senate District 5, which includes the counties of Story, Hamilton, Wright and part of Webster).  Previously served in the Iowa House of Representatives.  Served fifteen years on the Dows Community School Board.  Served in the United States Marine Corps as budget chief of the First Marine Division.  B.A. in accounting from Buena Vista College; attended Ellsworth Junior College.

Executive Director
Caleb Hunter
(announced Feb. 26, 2008)  Most recently worked at Lincoln Strategies Group, a West Des Moines public relations firm.  Political director of the Republican Party of Iowa, 2005-06.  Previously worked for Iowa Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey and the Republican Party of Iowa’s Victory campaign in 2004. Hunter is originally from Jesup, IA and is a 2001 graduate of the University of Iowa.  Originally from Jesup, IA (Buchanan County).

Communications Director
Nathan Treloar
(announced July 1, 2008)  Taking time off from Strategic Partners, LLP, a business he began in 2006 to provide outreach and communications services for political action groups.  Prior to that he spent three years with RPI, first directing field operations in Northwest Iowa from 2003-04 and then as finance director for the House Majority Fund in 2005.  Treloar has also worked on the U.S. Senate campaign of former Congressman Greg Ganske and gubernatorial campaign of Bob Vander Plaats.  Degree in political science from Iowa State University in 2001.  Native of Ogden, Iowa and is currently a resident of Des Moines.

Deputy Political Director
Eric Johansen

Caucus to Convention Coordinator
Heather Hooper

Deputy Finance Director
Wes Peterson

Communications Director
Tim Albrecht
(announced Feb. 26, 2008)  Communications director on Mitt Romney's Iowa caucus campaign, started in Jan. 2007.  Communications director for House Speaker Rep. Christopher Rants (R-Sioux City), 2002-06.  Worked on Steve Sukup’s run for governor in 2002.  A field staffer on the Forbes 2000 Iowa caucus campaign.  Graduate of the University of Northern Iowa with a degree in public relations, 2001.  Originally from Ida Grove, now of West Des Moines.

McCain primary

Copyright © 2008  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action