McCain General Election Campaign Organization, Minnesota
updated February 24, 2009

McCain-Palin 2008
Regional Headquarters: 678 Transfer Road St. Paul, MN 55114  651-356-8251
Regional Campaign Manager, North Mountain (MN, ND, SD, MT, WY, ID) Ben Golnik
Political director, then executive director of the Minnesota Republican Party.  Executive director of the Vermont Republican Party starting in March 2003.  Worked on Capitol Hill as a legislative aide in the Senate.  Studied in Russia on a fellowship.  Graduate of Middlebury College, 2000.

Deputy Regional Campaign Manager Mark Giga
Director of outreach at the Taxpayer's League of Minnesota, 2004-June 2008.  U.S. Marine Corps military police/infantry, 2001-04.  University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, 2001.

Communications Director Tom Steward
Previously communications director for Sen. Norm Coleman.  Television reporter at WCCO-TV.

Coalitions Director Ben Zierke
Graduate of Augustana College, 2007.

State Director and Political Director North Mountain Region
John Berns
Elected State Representative in House District 33B in 2006; did not seek re-election in 2008.  Member of the Wayzata City Council.  Director of Board and Commission Appointments and Associate General Counsel to the Gov. Tim Pawlenty.  Worked five years as a prosecutor.  B.A. in History from Loras College; J.D. from Drake University Law School.

Victory 2008

Executive Director/72 Hour Director
Bryan Watkins

Victory Offices
- 11025 Radisson Rd NE, Blaine, MN   (651) 587-7456  Contact: Luke Fischer

Burnsville - 12225 Wood Lake Dr, Burnsville, MN   (952) 882-9356   Contact: Rob Wills

Chaska - 204 Chestnut St N, Chaska, MN 55318   (612) 499-1641   Paul Jackson
Duluth - 5 South 13th Ave E, Duluth, MN 55805   (218) 728-1231   Contact: Julia Ruetten

Eden Prairie - 6870 Washington Ave. S, Eden Prairie, MN   (952) 944-1085   Contact: Tony Post

Golden Valley - 1405 N. Lilac Dr, Suite 210, Golden Valley, MN 55422   (651) 645-5432   Contact: John Meyer

Isanti County  - 1001 E Hwy 95 E, Ste 1005, Cambridge, MN   (763) 689-3606  Contact: Julia Ruetten

Long Lake - 2640 W. Industrial Blvd., Long Lake, MN 55356   (952) 944-1085   Contact: Tony Post

Moorhead - 923 Center Avenue, Moorhead, MN 56560   (218) 287-1360   Contact: Karen Franze

Ramsey County - 668 Transfer Rd, St. Paul, MN 55114   (651) 645-5432   Contact: John Meyer

Rochester - 2535 Hwy 14 W, Rochester, MN  (507) 536-9475  Contact: Hayley Astrup

St. Cloud - 1030 4th St. SE, Suite 114, St. Cloud, MN 56304  (651) 587-7456  Contact: Jeff Woods

Wadena - 208 Jefferson St. S., Wadena, MN 56482   (218) 287-1360   Contact: Karen Franze

Victory 2008 Finance Chairman: Tim Owens

Republican Party of Minnesota 
525 Park St, Suite 250  |  St Paul, MN 55103   651-222-0022   >
Ron Carey
(elected June 11, 2005 and re-elected in June 2007)  Previously served as the party's treasurer.  Works for Intuit, Inc. and is from Shoreview.

Executive Director
Darren Bearson
(announced April 19, 2007)  Previously White House Liaison at the U.S. Department of Energy. An Associate White House Political Director, charged with overseeing President Bush's domestic agenda for several states, including Minnesota.  Worked in the Office of Presidential Personnel from 2001-03.  Field director for then-Gov. Bush's 2000 campaign in Ohio and West Virginia.  Worked on Capitol Hill for Congressman Bill Archer and Congressman Jim Ramstad.  Graduate of Colgate University in Hamilton, New York.  Native of Hopkins.

Office Manager
Barbara Linert

Political Operations Coordinator Tim Gould

Special Projects Coordinator
Nick Erickson

72 hour / Victory Director Bryan Watkins

College Republicans Chair
Bethany Dorobiala

College Republicans Executive Director
Travis Symoniak

Field Staff
Robert Wills


Communications Director
Gina Countryman
(announced June 2008)  Previously served as the party's research director.  Countryman also worked in the communications department of the Office of Governor Tim Pawlenty.  

Finance Director
Angela Nielsen


Telecommunications Director
Ron Huettl

Phone Bank Supervisor
Bill Milbach

Phone Bank Supervisor
Dana Payne

Call Center Mailing
Adam Mohler


IT Director
Joel Cary


Copyright © 2008  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action