McCain General Election Campaign Organization, Ohio
updated March 31, 2009

McCain-Palin 2008 

Regional Headquarters:  240 North 5th Street  |  Suite 340  |  Columbus, Ohio 43215     ...grand opening June 19, 2008
Regional Campaign Manager (OH and PA) Jon Seaton
Briefly Northwest regional political director at the RNC.  State director on McCain's Iowa caucus campaign; prior to the July 2, 2007 restructuring served as the McCain campaign's national field director.  Associate director (West/Northern Plains) in the White House Office of Political Affairs.  Executive director of Bush-Cheney '04 in Washington State.  Field representative at the National Association of Realtors®.  Worked at the National Republican Congressional Committee and in the first part of 2002 he managed John Redwine's primary campaign in Iowa's 5th CD.  He worked on the field teams of the National Federation of Independent Business and Associated Builders and Contractors.  Graduate of the University of Colorado.

Ohio State Director Ryan Meerstein
Executive director of Rudy Giuliani's South Carolina primary campaign.  During the 2006 election cycle, Meerstein served at the director of political education at the Republican National Committee (RNC) and worked with the RNC's Victory Program on the successful campaign of Bob Corker for U.S. Senate in Tennessee.  In 2004 he served as the RNC Victory field director for Central Ohio.  Graduate of Allegheny College in Meadville, PA, 2003.

Victory 2008   

Matt Mason
(announced June 2, 2008)   A regional political director for the Rudy Giuliani Presidential Committee.  Ran the Ohio Republican Party's GOTV program in 2004 and 2006, after starting work with the party in 2000.  After Sept. 11, 2001 Mason joined the U.S. Marine Corps; he served a combat tour in Iraq in 2005.  Graduate of the Ohio University with a degree in political management, Dec. 2000; began his political career serving as campaign manger on several races while in college.

Victory Offices
Butler County:  5964 Golf Club Lane, Hamilton, OH 45011   ...Contact: Daniel Alfaro

Cuyahoga County: 7630 Chippewa Rd, Brecksville, OH 44141   ...Contact: Nicole Reese

Delaware County: 6011 Columbus Pike, Lewis Center, OH 43035   ...Contact: Drew Ullman

Franklin County: 240 North 5th Street (Suite 330), Columbus, OH 43215   ...Contact: Nick Ivey

Greene County: 3317 Cejay Drive, Beaver Creek, OH 45430   ...Contact: Rob Lagergren

Hamilton County: 3339 Harrison Ave, Cincinnati, OH 45211   ...Contact: Ben Ertel

Lucas County: 1724 Indian Wood Circle (Suite F), Maumee, OH 43537   ...Contact: Fred Cooper

Montgomery County: 526 Miamisburg-Centerville Rd, Dayton, OH 45459   ...Contact: Jeff Yount

Stark County: 4875 Higbee NW, Canton, OH 44718   ...Contact: Jen Thrasher

Announced July 30, 2008
Coalitions Director
Apps Akpofure
Recently served as an aide to Ohio Senator William Seitz III on the Judiciary & Criminal Justice Committee.  Assistant director of coalitions for the gubernatorial campaign of J. Kenneth Blackwell.  Graduate of The Ohio State University.

Outreach Coordinator-Catholics/SW
Dick Hammersmith
Hammersmith has a long history of working with fiscally conservative, pro-life candidates in the greater Cincinnati area. He headed up a consulting firm after a career as a communications specialist for Cincinnati Gas & Electric and later Cincinnati Bell.  Early experience as a local government reporter across Ohio and in Kentucky.  A graduate of the University of Dayton, Hammersmith lives with his wife, Lynn, in Green Township.

Outreach Coordinator-Catholics/NE
Lisa Sabath
Sabath has served in ministry for ten years working with both adults and children in the Diocese of Cleveland.  She has also worked on a number of campaigns, including political experience at the national, statewide, and congressional level.  An active member of the Lake County Republican Party.

Outreach Director-Veterans
Brian Hoyt
Enlisted in the Navy in 1997, serving as an electronics technician, and later attended Officer Candidate School to become a public affairs officer. In 2007, Hoyt attained the rank of lieutenant and transferred to the U.S. Navy Reserves, where he served in the Navy Office of Community Outreach.  A native of Worthington, OH, and a graduate from Miami University, Hoyt currently lives in Powell with his wife and two children.

Outreach Coordinator-Values Voters
Jeff Longstreth
Ohio campaign manager and Mid-West political director for former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee's presidential campaign. Founder of his own consulting firm.  Worked in the Ohio House of Representatives as a legislative aide and as the campaign coordinator for Ohio Senator James Carnes.  Graduate of The Ohio State University.

Outreach Coordinator-Women
Carol Porter
Porter has long experience serving in Ohio government, including work at the state, county, and local level.  She currently serves as co-chair of The Jo Ann Davidson Ohio Leadership Institute, a program founded by former Ohio Speaker Davidson.  An active member of the Franklin County Republican Party.

Victory 2008 Finance

Chairman John Barrett
Co-Chairman Mark Hauser
Honorary Chairman Mercer Reynolds

Ohio Republican Party 
211 South Fifth Street  |  Columbus, OH 43215   614.228.2481 >
Robert T. Bennett
Currently serving his tenth and final term as chairman of the Ohio Republican Party, a position he has held since February 1988; also a 19-year member of the RNC.  Bennett is a Certified Public Accountant and an attorney specializing in tax and business law.

     Special Assistant to the Chairman
Pat Melton
     Deputy Recorder in the Franklin County Recorder's Office, 2000-05.  Graduate of The Ohio State University, 2004.

Executive Director
Jason Mauk
Previously served as the party's political director, and in the 2004 cycle as communications director.

Political Director
Jonathan Gormley
(Feb. 2007)  Started at the party in May 2001 as a regional field director, then served as deputy political director Dec. 2004-May 2006, and as Victory director for the remainder of 2006.  Bachelor's degree in communications from Ohio University, 2000.

Communications Director
John McClelland
(June 2005)  Press secretary to Congresswoman Deborah Pryce, May 2004-June 2005.  M.B.A. from Franklin University, 2005.

Ohio College Republicans Federation - Dan Lipian, Chairman
Ohio Federation of Republican Women - Karen L. Skillings, President
Ohio Black Republican Association - Steve Cheek, President
Ohio Republican Hispanic Assembly - Chris Rodriguez, Chairman
Ohio Young Republicans - Lisa Stickan, Chairman

McCain primary

Copyright © 2008, 2009  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action