John McCain-Organization, Texas
revised March 30, 2008

JOHN McCAIN 2008, INC. (March 1, 2007)
JOHN McCAIN 2008 - THE EXPLORATORY COMMITTEE  (filed with the FEC to establish on Nov. 16, 2006)

(Dec. 29, 2008)
Secretary Robert Mosbacher, National Campaign Chairman, Houston
(announced Dec. 7, 2006 as Honorary Texas Finance Chair; announced as a General Chair on Aug. 27, 2007)  Chairman of Mosbacher Energy Company.  General chairman of President George H.W. Bush's 1992 re-election campaign.  Secretary of Commerce, 1989-92.  Finance chairman on George H.W. Bush's 1988 campaign, then general chairman at the RNC.  Finance chairman on Bush's 1980 campaign.  Houston oil businessman (Mosbacher Energy Co.).  Degree in business administration from Washington & Lee University, 1947.

Senator Phil Gramm, National Campaign Co-chairman, San Antonio
(announced on March 12, 2007 as General Co-Chair "closely involved in the daily workings of the campaign, and assist with fundraising, strategy, and message development;" had been serving as a policy advisor)

Congressman Tom Loeffler, National Campaign Co-chairman & National Finance Chairman, San Antonio
(announced as General Co-Chair on March 7, 2007; announced as a National Finance Co-Chair on Dec. 14, 2006)  Founder and senior partner of The Loeffler Group, LLP, a government affairs and international trade law firm with offices in Washington, D.C., and San Antonio and Austin, Texas.  A Pioneer in the 2000 Bush campaign and a Super-Ranger in 2004.  Loeffler served as Texas co-chairman for the George H.W. Bush presidential campaign, as national finance chairman of Phil Gramm for President, national finance co-chairman in 2000 and South Texas co-chairman in 2004 for George W. Bush for President.  Co-chairman of the RNC's Team 100.  In 1987, President Ronald Reagan named him the principal coordinator for Central America in the White House Office of Legislative Affairs.  In 1978 he was elected for the first of four terms in the U.S. House, representing the 21st CD in Texas.  Began his career as chief legislative counsel for Sen. John Tower and was appointed special assistant for legislative affairs by President Gerald Ford.

Mr. Fred Zeidman, National Campaign Vice-chairman, Houston
(announced by the Exploratory Committee on Jan. 31, 2007...Jewish Outreach)  Chairman of Seitel, Inc., founder of the Houston Venture Capital Association, and chairman of Turnaround Partners, Inc.  Zeidman is vice chairman and board member of the Republican Jewish Coalition (RJC).

Mrs. Mica Mosbacher, Woman for McCain National Chairwoman, Houston

Governor William P. Clements, Honorary Texas Chairman, Dallas
(announced Dec. 7, 2006)  Elected first Republican governor of Texas since Reconstruction in 1978, and elected to another term in 1986.  Deputy U.S. secretary of defense in the Nixon and Ford administrations.  A former chairman of the board of governors of Southern Methodist University.  Co-founder and co-owner of Southeastern Drilling Company, which later changed its name to SEDCO Inc. and became the world's largest oil drilling contracting firm.

Mr. Red McCombs, Honorary Texas Chairman, San Antonio
(announced Dec. 7, 2006 as Honorary Texas Finance Chair)  A renowned philanthropist, is the founder of the Red McCombs Automotive Group and a co-founder of Clear Channel Communications. He is a former owner of the San Antonio Spurs, the Denver Nuggets, and the Minnesota Vikings.

Mr. James Huffines, Texas State Chairman, Austin
(announced Dec. 14, 2006)  Commercial banker; chairman, Central and South Texas, of PlainsCapital Bank in Austin.  Currently serves as chairman of the University of Texas System Board of Regents.  Major roles in the elections of Gov. Rick Perry, including  chairman of the Perry transition team in 2000-01, co-chairman of the Texas Inaugural Committee in 2003 and 2007, and chairman of Perry’s successful 2006 re-election campaign.  Member of the inaugural committee for then Gov. George W. Bush in 1999.  Huffines began his political career by working on Bill Clements’ successful gubernatorial campaign and served Gov. Clements as appointment secretary, Nov. 1986-June 1990.  Executive at several Dallas banks.  BBA degree in finance from U.T. Austin in 1973 and attended Southwestern Graduate School of Banking at Southern Methodist University

Mr. Dennis Nixon, South Texas Co-chairman, Laredo
Mr. Gene Powell, South Texas Co-chairman, San Antonio
Mr. John Steen, South Texas Co-chairman, San Antonio
Senator Steve Ogden, Bryan / College Station   (six State Senators announced May 2, 2007)
Senator John Carona, Dallas
Senator Troy Fraser, Horseshoe Bay
Senator Robert Duncan, Lubbock
Senator Kevin Eltife, Tyler
Senator Kip Averitt, Waco
George Bayoud, Dallas
Mr. Jerry Ford, Dallas
Mr. Earl Nye, Dallas
Mr. Roger Staubach, Dallas
Mrs. Jeanne Tower Cox, Dallas
Mr. David McDavid, Ft. Worth
Mrs. Kit Montcrief, Ft. Worth
Mr. Jim Dannenbaum, Houston
Mr. Larry Finder, Houston
Mrs. Nancy Loeffler, San Antonio
Mr. Gaylord Hughey, Tyler
Mr. Whit Riter, Tyler

later endorsements
U.S. Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison  (announced Feb. 11, 2008)
U.S. Sen. John Cornyn  (announced Feb. 7, 2008 after Romney suspended his campaign)

U.S. Rep. Michael Burgess (CD-26, Dallas-Fort Worth suburbs)  (announced Feb. 8, 2008)
U.S. Rep. John Carter (CD-31, Round Rock north to Stephenville)  (announced Feb. 28, 2008; previously backed Romney)
U.S. Rep. Louie Gohmert (CD-1, Tyler) (announced Feb. 28, 2008; previously backed FThompson)
U.S. Rep. Kay Granger (CD-12, Fort Worth and north)  (announced Feb. 28, 2008; previously backed Romney)
U.S. Rep. Jeb Hensarling (CD-5, Dallas and six rural counties)  (announced Feb. 11, 2008)
U.S. Rep. Sam Johnson (CD-3, Richardson) (announced March 3, 2008)

and newspapers
Austin American-Statesman  (02/01/08)
Corpus Christi Caller-Times  (02/17/08)
El Paso Times  (02/10/08)
Fort Worth Star-Telegram  (02/17/08)
Houston Chronicle  (02/16/08)
San Antonio Express-News  (02/10/08)

Finance Committee
Kip Averitt
Peter Huntsman
Phil Adams
George Bayoud
Robert Brown
Kerry Cammack
Governor William Clements 
Jeanne Cox
Ken and Patty Crews
Roger Enrico
George Farris
Jerry Ford
Ted Houghton
James Huffines
Gaylord Hughey
Matt Malouf
Margaret Martin
Red McCombs
Kit Moncrief
Phil Montgomery
Bob Mosbacher
Dennis Nixon
Erle Nye
Gene Powell
Bob Shepard
John Steen
John Tatum
Mark Tatum
Terdema Ussery
Rob Allyn
Dan Duncan
Steve Ogden
Fred Zeidman
Ed Wulfe
Matt Wiggins
Michael Eaton
Larry Finder
Gary Polland 

Copyright © 2006, 2007, 2008  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action