Oct. 3, 2006 PRESS RELEASE FROM Sen. John McCain's Straight Talk America PAC

Michigan Grassroots Leadership Team Announced

ALEXANDRIA, VA - Today Straight Talk America announced that 24 Michigan Republican grassroots leaders have joined to form the PAC’s Michigan Grassroots Leadership Team.

“We are building the strongest Republican grassroots political organization that has ever been organized in Michigan,” said Michigan Republican Party Vice Chairman Gerry Mason.  “Although most of us supported George W. Bush in 2000, we are working very closely with Senator McCain to help elect Republicans in 2006 and beyond.”

The Michigan Grassroots Leadership Team includes two state GOP vice chairmen, the state GOP secretary, four GOP district chairmen, thirteen county GOP chairmen, and three statewide elected officials.  The complete team is listed below.

“I am honored by the assistance we are receiving from grassroots leaders across the state of Michigan,” said Senator McCain.  “We appreciate their hard work and look forward to working together to help elect Republicans in 2006.”

The statewide elected officials on the Grassroots Leadership Team are nominated at the Michigan Republican Convention and elected statewide on the general election ballot.  The state GOP secretary, vice chairmen, and district GOP chairman are elected to their party positions at the convention.  County chairmen are elected at county party meetings.

Straight Talk America Michigan Grassroots Leadership Team

Gerry Mason                             Michigan GOP Vice Chairman

Andrew Wendt                           Michigan GOP Vice Chairman

Dee Cook                                  Michigan State University Trustee

Melanie Foster                           Michigan State University Trustee

Eileen Weiser                            State Board of Education Member

Hank Fuhs                                Michigan GOP Secretary

Pattie Garrett Schneider             1st District GOP Chairman

Mike Troutman                           7th District GOP Chairman

Ed Joseph                                 13th District GOP Chairman

Bill Beddoes                              14th District GOP Chairman

Gerry Hildenbrand                      Allegan County GOP Chairman

Ann Steiner                               Antrim County Chairman

Scott Durham                            Calhoun County GOP Chairman

John Haggard                            Charlevoix County GOP Chairman

Julie LaCost                              Dickinson County GOP Chairman

Geraldine Burt                           Gogebic County GOP Chairman

William Reilly                            Iosco County GOP Chairman

Libby Child                                Kent County GOP Chairman

Karl Hascall                               Kent County GOP Co-Chairman

Doreen Takalo                           Marquette County GOP Chairman

Charles Mulholland                     Montcalm County GOP Chairman

Juanita Pierman                         Oceana County GOP Chairman

Ken Shapely                              Saginaw County GOP Chairman

Ann Hyde                                  Wexford County GOP Chairman