PRESS RELEASE from Obama for America


August 23, 2007


Josh Earnest
Tommy Vietor

Iowa Women for Obama Announce Leaders in 50 Iowa Counties

DES MOINES – Today, the Obama for America Campaign announced Women for Obama County Leaders in 50 Iowa counties.  Senator Obama’s commitment to changing the conventional thinking in Washington, D.C. has galvanized women across Iowa and inspired them to act.

To commemorate Women’s Equality Day, the anniversary of the ratification of the 19th Amendment, Women for Obama will come together for more than 30 organizing parties across Iowa to reach out to other women and discuss why they believe Senator Obama is the best candidate to build consensus and make progress on vital issues important to women.

“The kind of real change we need to transform our country must happen from the bottom-up, not the top-down,” Senator Barack Obama said.  “That’s why I’m honored to have the support of these women across Iowa who have made the commitment to join me as we work together to change the way we do politics in Washington, D.C. and change our country.”

Each Women for Obama party will have an organizing element to build on Senator Obama’s grassroots movement for change.  Following a conference call with actress Alfre Woodard, women will gather to make phone calls, knock on doors, and write postcards to their friends and neighbors discussing Senator Obama’s vision for changing the politics as usual in Washington, D.C.

Throughout his career, Senator Obama has fought to ensure that every American has equal rights and opportunities, regardless of gender.  For a fact sheet on Senator Obama’s commitment to women and the vital issues women face, click here.

Below is a list of our 82 women from 50 Iowa counties who are playing a leading role in organizing Women for Obama activities and outreach in their home county:

 County  First Name  Last Name
Black Hawk Elaine Pfalzgraf
Black Hawk Rachel Braunigan
Black Hawk Kelli Masters
Black Hawk Victoria Newell
Black Hawk Betsy Zan
Black Hawk Sharon Anway
Black Hawk Carole Fishback
Black Hawk Kristi Marchesani
Boone Dorothia Rohner
Bremer Stephanie Schwinn
Carroll Ann Wilson
Cedar Clara Oleson
Cerro Gordo Lisa Manning
Clayton Fran Zichal
Clinton Lindra Bicksler
Dallas Barb  Giller
Decatur Andrea MaGhuey
Delaware Robin Stone
Des Moines Tanya Moore
Dickinson Christine (Tina) Bauermeister
Dubuque Joyce Monahan
Dubuque Kelly Simpson
Dubuque Katie Determan
Fayette Pat Taylor
Floyd Clara Hinman
Fremont Lorena Courtney
Guthrie Sheri Heiland
Hamilton Audrey Burnett
Hardin Dee Dolan
Hardin Judy Smith
Howard Laura Hubka
Ida Lenee Sinnott
Iowa Suzanne Moffit
Jackson Kathy Geronzin
Jasper Tracy Doonan
Jefferson Veronica Butler
Jefferson Marsha Bell
Jefferson Gloria Schwartz
Johnson Amy  Correia
Jones Cecelia Parks
Kossuth Susan  Bangert
Kossuth Patricia Bernaue
Kossuth Laura Swalve
Lee Grace Harris
Lee Cheryl Liles
Lee Virginia Riddle
Lee Lois Eichacker
Lee Teahnna Eicher
Linn Amy  Reasner
Linn Muriel Rogers
Lucas Barb Paulding Moody
Madison Mary Corkrean
Marshall Karen  Lischer
Mills Marty Barker
Montgomery Jennifer Boeye
Muscatine Bonnie  Adkins
Muscatine Phyllis  Avesing
Palo Alto Anne Marie Nelson
Polk Nancy Bobo
Polk Courtney Work
Polk Sophia Douglas
Polk Judy Reha
Polk Michelle Wilson
Polk Sheila Manteaw
Polk Jane Robinette
Polk Nedra  Sparland
Polk Nadine Hawbaker
Pottawattamie Janet Sutherland
Poweshiek Bev Rens
Scott Karen  Fitzsimmons
Story Tara M. van Brederode
Tama Sharon Owens
Wapello Vicki Siegel
Warren Peg Mikulanec
Washington Linda Boston
Webster Lois Dencklau
Winneshiek Pamela Cook
Woodbury Rachel Robson
Woodbury Cassie Main
Woodbury Wendy Lego
Woodbury Angi  Wittrock