PRESS RELEASE from Obama for America

September 6, 2007


Josh Earnest

Tommy Vietor

Obama Campaign Announces African American Steering Committee

DES MOINES – Today, the Obama Campaign announced an 88-member African American steering committee that will take a leadership role in outreach efforts to African Americans and Iowans statewide.  Dedicated to building upon Senator Obama’s grassroots movement for change, the African American steering committee will work to spread Senator Obama’s message of hope throughout Iowa.

“The change our nation desperately needs on issues such as Iraq, health care, and education can only be made by a candidate who isn’t afraid to challenge the conventional thinking in Washington, D.C.” Iowa City Mayor Ross Wilburn said.  “Barack Obama exercised good judgment when he spoke out against the Iraq war when it was politically unpopular to do so and again when he rejected campaign donations from PACs and federal lobbyists.  Barack Obama is the candidate with the best combination of courage and judgment to strengthen our communities and lead our country, and that’s why I’m proud to give him my support.”

The steering committee will lead African Americans for Obama and reach out to Iowans to discuss Barack Obama’s vision for changing our country.  African Americans for Obama will hold statewide kickoff events this evening, which will include a conference call with Obama senior advisor Rick Wade.

“As a community organizer in Chicago’s South Side, I learned first hand that it takes the hard work of everyday people coming together to create extraordinary change,” Barack Obama said.  “That’s why I’m honored to have the support of these leaders in the African American community who have committed their time and effort to help us reach out to Iowans and who will play a vital role in our outreach efforts throughout the state.”

Barack Obama has spent much of his career working in the African American community as a civil rights attorney, community organizer, Illinois State Senator representing Chicago’s South Side, and the only African American U.S. Senator. Whether it is decrying the Bush Administration’s botched response to Hurricane Katrina, promoting economic opportunity, working to improve our nation’s education and health care systems or protecting the right to vote, Barack Obama has been a powerful and consistent advocate for the black community.  For more information on Barack Obama’s leadership, click here.

The Des Moines and Waterloo kickoff events are open to media and the public.   See below event details and the full list of African American steering committee members.

Des Moines African Americans for Obama Kickoff Event
What: Polk Co. African American Leadership Meeting and Conference Call with National Senior Advisor Rick Wade
Date: Thursday, Sept. 6
Time: 7:00 pm
Where: Des Moines Obama HQ

Waterloo African Americans for Obama Kickoff Event
What: Meeting and Ceremonial Signing of Letter to the Editor
Date: Thursday, Sept. 6
Time: 7:00pm
Where: Ramada Inn – Waterloo


First Last City
Wayne Clinton Ames
Rick Jennings Ankeny
Adrienne Jennings  Ankeny
MarScine Brown Burlington
Mary "Lyn" Stinson Burlington
Michael Blackwell Cedar Falls
Miranda Burke Cedar Rapids
Karl  Cassell Cedar Rapids
Lennox Randon Cedar Rapids
Ruth White Cedar Rapids
Edward  Young Cedar Rapids
Wanda Wyatt-Hardwick Clinton
Renaldo Johnson Clive
Austin Bailey Council Bluffs
Brenda Louise Drew-Peeples Davenport
Hiram Harris Davenport
Vera Kelly Davenport
Clyde Mayfield Davenport
Rogers Kirk Davenport (Bettendorf)
Desmund Adams Des Moines
Lenola Allen-Sommerville Des Moines
Derek Bastian Des Moines
James Bowman Des Moines
Sonja Brewton Des Moines
Toussaint Cheatom Des Moines
Jim Crawford Des Moines
Paul Danforth Des Moines
Aden Davis Des Moines
Jacquie Easley Des Moines
Merritta Florence Des Moines
Nolden  Gentry Des Moines
Barb Gentry Des Moines
Willie Glanton Des Moines
Jermain Henderson Des Moines
Mary Lynne Jones Des Moines
Roger  Maxwell Des Moines
Arenda Maxwell Des Moines
Veola Perry Des Moines
Dolph Pulliam Des Moines
Rev. Keith Ratliff Des Moines
Andrea Smith Des Moines
Bryant Smith Des Moines
Rev. H.I Thomas Des Moines
Twyla Woods Des Moines
Ron  Woods Des Moines
Robert Wright Des Moines
Arica Wright Des Moines
Shekinah Young Des Moines
Brandie Young (Bell) Des Moines
Claudette Carter-Thomas Dubuque
Ruby Sutton Dubuque
Allen Sutton Dubuque
Jerome Thomas Dubuque
Charles Clayton Fort Dodge
Julia Naylor Fort Dodge
Orlando Dial Iowa City
Dianne Dillon-Ridgley Iowa City
Billie Townsend Iowa City
Orville Townsend Iowa City
Ross Wilburn Iowa City
Don Wilder Marshalltown
Lionel Foster Mason City
Willie Mullen Mt. Pleasant
Betty Jean Mullen Mt. Pleasant
George Boykin Sioux City
Floyd E. Brown Sioux City
Larenzo Chavis Sioux City
Treyla Lee-Chavis Sioux City
Roger Pitts Sioux City
Jonna  Johnson Urbandale
Morris Anderson Waterloo
Joseph Baring Waterloo
Belinda Creighton Smith Waterloo
Cheryl  Faries Waterloo
Abraham Funchess Waterloo
David Goodson Waterloo
Quentin Hart Waterloo
Marvin Jenkins Waterloo
David  Meeks Waterloo
Jimmie Porter Waterloo
Louissa Porter Waterloo
Helen Seenster Waterloo
Anna Mae Weems Waterloo
Frantz Whitfield Waterloo
McArthur Anderson Davenport
Ida  Johnson Davenport
Janet Woods Bragg Davenport
Bonnie Lane-Beechum Davenport