PRESS RELEASE from Obama for America

November 14, 2007


Josh Earnest
Tommy Vietor

Obama Campaign Announces “Caucus Pros” to Help Train First-Time Caucus Goers Supporting Obama

DES MOINES – The Obama for America campaign today announced the creation of the Caucus Pros program, which will tap Iowa seniors and veterans of the caucus process to help train supporters who are first-time caucus goers of all ages. The program is designed to help Senator Obama build a strong grassroots organization that will be successful on caucus night.  There are currently 73 active Caucus Pros in 36 different Iowa counties.  The average Caucus Pro is 62-years-old.

“The way to build a strong, grassroots organization that will be effective on caucus night is to have seniors and veteran caucus goers train first-time caucus goers about how the process works,” Obama said. “That’s why we’re bringing together seniors and long-time caucus goers across the state to train supporters who haven’t caucused before.”

“As someone who has attended five caucuses, I understand the importance of having well-trained precinct captains and supporters who can be leaders on that cold night in January,” Obama Caucus Pro Nancy Bobo said. “I look forward to working with the campaign to ensure that we’re successful on caucus night.”

The Obama campaign is committed to building a true statewide, grassroots operation.  The next step in building that organization is ensuring that supporters are equipped with the knowledge they need to participate in the caucus process and understand how to stand up for Barack Obama on Thursday, January 3rd.

Below is a list of Caucus Pros ready to work to support Senator Obama’s campaign:

FirstName LastName CountyName Age
George Appleby Polk 60
Susan Bangert Kossuth 50
Marno Batterson Jasper 60
Jan Bauer Story 49
Elizabeth Belden Linn 73
Patricia Bernau Kossuth 67
Jake Blitsch Fayette 60
Nancy Bobo Polk 55
Linda Boston Washington 64
Timothy Bottaro Woodbury 49
Mark Brandsgard Polk 55
Alice Breemer Poweshiek 67
Barry Bruner Carroll 56
Ron Brunk Grundy 73
Dottie Butts Polk 72
Joyce Carman Johnson 72
Kenneth Choquette Polk 65
Stephen Conway Polk 63
Patrick Devries Osceola 57
Dalene Dolan Hardin 67
Rick Engel Polk 57
Thomas Furlong Muscatine 58
Carol Gordon Grundy 65
Wendy Gronbeck Iowa 62
Sherida Heiland Guthrie 54
Howard Heisterkamp Carroll 68
Jennifer Herrington Page 47
Mary House Jackson 60
Nancy Huisinga Wright 52
Janice Jay Polk 60
Ruth Keraus Henry 75
Kathryn Kilbourn Linn 63
Steven Kraus Carroll 43
Gordon Liles Lee 60
Jean Lloyd-Jones Johnson 78
Eileen Lundberg Polk 61
Rebecca Lyon Boone 57
James Maloney Polk 69
Lyle McIntosh Harrison 64
Marian Meyer Jackson 53
Estella Michels Delaware 73
Joyce Monahan Dubuque 65
Patrick Mooney Clinton 64
Richard Myers Johnson 73
Julia Naylor Webster 75
Christopher Odonohoe Chickasaw 57
William Oliver Jones 63
Cecelia Parks Jones 57
Donald Paul Cass 85
Mona Paul Cass 75
Mary Peacock Van Buren 65
Kathleen Richardson Carroll 56
Joan Roberts Polk 68
Carol Roemig-Heusinkveld Iowa 52
Ruth Scharnau Dubuque 74
Nancy Schulte Des Moines 65
Charles Shelabarger Polk 53
Arnold Shileny Scott 62
Nancy Shileny Scott 62
Elizabeth Slappey Linn 55
Paul Specht Jones 60
Rodney Sullivan Johnson 41
Pat Taylor Fayette 56
Daniel Turner Union 58
Grace Walsh Polk 79
Janet Wee Polk 65
Raymond Wee Polk 72
Charles Weller Taylor 53
Debra Willaredt Scott 53
Georgianna Williams Polk 69
Sally Williams Linn 52
Ann Wilson Carroll 66
Elizabeth Young Henry 71