PRESS RELEASE from Obama for America


November 16, 2007


Josh Earnest
Tommy Vietor


Obama Campaign Announces the Support of 46 Women Serving in Elective Office in Iowa

DES MOINES – The Obama for America campaign today announced the support of 46 women serving in elective office in Iowa. Obama’s announcement comes on the heels of a widely praised speech at the Iowa Jefferson Jackson dinner, another strong debate performance, and a decision by UAW Region 4 to throw their support behind his campaign.

“Barack Obama has spent his career bringing people together to solve problems,” Jasper County Recorder Nancy Parrott said. “He is exactly what we need after two terms of George Bush – a President that can actually unite our country around a common purpose.”
The list of endorsements included four Iowa State Representatives – Reps. Helen Miller, Elesha Gayman, Janet Petersen and Pam Jochum. Obama received the support of women living in 26 counties across the state.

“We need to nominate a Democrat like Senator Obama that can not only attract votes from Democrats, but also Republicans and Independents to win the election, and build a coalition that can actually govern,” State Representative Pam Jochum said. “Senator Obama proved at the JJ dinner that he can inspire the American people and call them to action, which is why his candidacy gives me hope and I’m supporting him.”

"What women in Iowa and all across America are looking for is a candidate who leads by principle and conviction who can bring the country together to forge consensus,” Obama said. “They’re tired of Washington gridlock and polarization that has kept us from making any progress on the challenges our country faces, and understand that we need to elect a President who will bring about change we can believe in.”

Yesterday, delegates of United Auto Workers Region 4, which includes 30,000 members and retirees in Iowa, voted to support Senator Barack Obama’s presidential campaign.  The group announced its overwhelming support at the close of a weeklong conference where seven of the major Democratic presidential candidates addressed the group earlier this week.  UAW members said Obama’s ability to unite the country makes him the strongest candidate in the Democratic field and vowed to use the group’s widely respected organizational muscle to help him do well in the first-in-the-nation caucuses.

Below is the list of supporters:
First Name Last Name Office County Name
Susan Olesen Nodaway Valley Community School Board Adair
Debra Henkle Mayor of Cincinnatti Appanoose
Dawn Flickinger Garrison City Council Benton
Kathy Tranel Vinton School Board Benton
Lila Kruse Boone City Council Boone
Jacinta Hart West Branch School Board Cedar
Susan Breitbach Chickasaw County Treasurer Chickasaw
Linda Orr Clayton County Treasurer Clayton
Brenda Buck Lee County Treasurer Des Moines
Karla Braig Dubuque City Council Dubuque
Pam Jochum Iowa State Representative Dubuque
Pamela Hayes Webster City School Board Hamilton
Deborah Leksell Hamilton County Treasurer Hamilton
Tracy Muth Woden-Crystal School Board Hancock
Kathi Berry Salem City Council Henry
Elizabeth Momany Amana School Board Iowa
Candi Schmieder Marengo City Council Iowa
Robyn Friedman Lamb's Grove City Council Jasper
Nancy Parrott Jasper County Recorder Jasper
Amy Correia Iowa City City Council Johnson
Mary-Eileen Larsen Lone Tree City Council Johnson
Sally Robbins Lone Tree School Board Johnson
Sara Curtis Algona City Council Kossuth
Julia Logan Keokuk School Board Lee
Lu Barron Linn County Supervisor Linn
Judy Goldberg Cedar Rapids School Board Linn
Linda Langston Linn County Supervisor Linn
Gretchen Holcomb Winterset School Board Madison
Cherie Miner Griswold Community School Board Montgomery
Pamela Smith Emmetsburg City Council Palo Alto
Teree Caldwell-Johnson Des Moines School Board Polk
Angela Connolly Polk County Supervisor Polk
Janet Petersen Iowa State Representative Polk
Paula Walzer Mayor of Sheldahl Polk
Harriett Dickey-Chasins Grinnell School Board Poweshiek
Beverly Rens Brooklyn School Board President Poweshiek
Wanda Sims Grinnell School Board Poweshiek
Karen Fitzsimmons-Walton Scott County Auditor Scott
Mary Gallin Scott County Supervisor Scott
Elesha Gayman Iowa State Representative Scott
Molly Regan Scott County Soil and Water District Commissioner Scott
Dana Smith Buffalo City Council Scott
Jeanette Wildermuth Blue Grass City Council Scott
Patricia Zamora Davenport School Board Scott
Cynthia (Cyd) Dyer Indianola School Board Warren
Helen Miller Iowa State Representative Webster