Obama General Election Campaign Organization, Nebraska
revised April 14, 2009  disclaimer

Obama for America 
|  343 North 76th Street  |  Omaha, NE 68114   402-502-1858        ...grand opening Sept. 12, 2008
State Director
John Berge
(announced Aug. 2, 2008)  Most recently served as the executive director at the Western Nebraska Community College Foundation.  Berge has served as district manager for Sen. Ben Nelson and as special assistant for Sen. Bob Kerrey and for Sen. J. James Exon, respectively.  He has also been the state executive director of the Farm Service Agency in Lincoln, and a development assistant for the Nebraska AIDS project in Omaha.

Communications Director
Erin Fitzgerald
Has served various positions on the campaign including in the Chicago headquarters and as deputy press secretary in the Rhode Island primary.  Graduate of Northwestern University, 2006.

Deputy Press Secretary
Kendra Waltke
Reporter at the Lincoln Journal Star.  Studied English at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.

Political Director
Jessica Rathbun
A former president of Nebraska Young Democrats.

New Media Director
Chuck Lippstreu
On leave from position as executive assistant and blog writer at the Arbor Day Foundation.  B.A. in international studies from University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2008.  In 2004 served as a field intern on Connealy for Congress.

Campaign for Change
Field Director
Justin Hatmaker
Started on the Obama campaign as Southeast regional field director on the Nevada caucus campaign.  In 2005 served as North-Central Ohio field manager for Reform Ohio Now.  Graduate of Miami University in Ohio.

Regional Field Director
Charlie Ellsworth
(Aug. 2008)  Joined the campaign after leaving the office of Sen. Ben Nelson, where he served as a deputy legislative assistant starting in April 2006.  Ellsworth also worked for campaign as spokesperson during the Nebraska presidential primary caucuses.  Graduate of Ithaca College

Operations Director
Greg Diephouse
On leave from position as Director of Strategic Planning for the Illinois Department of Human Services; started in that job in Sept. 2007.  M.B.A. in strategic management from University of Chicago - Booth School of Business, 2007.  Master's in public policy from University of Chicago, 2004.  Undergraduate degree from Calvin College, 1997.

GOTV Director
Alex Iftimie
Listings and marketing coordinator for The Lampert Group a realtor in south Orange County, California.
Field Organizers:  Harrison Ford, Sunny Tsou, Carmen Chang, Lisa Olivares, Ashley Adams, Cliff Robbins, Chris Tiwald, Eric Aspengren, Jessica Ward

second office: 5032 Ames Ave., Omaha, NE   ...grand opening Oct. 8, 2008
third office: 144th and Center, West Omaha, NE   ...opened Oct. 12, 2008.

Nebraska Democratic Party
  1327 H Street, Suite 200  |  Lincoln, NE 68508     >
Steve Achelpohl
(since 2001)  Omaha attorney.  Law Clerk, Hon. Donald R. Ross, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, 1975-77.  J.D from University of Nebraska, 1975; B.A. from University of Nebraska, 1972.

Executive Director
former Sen. Matt Connealy
Farmer from Decatur (corn and soybeans since 1973).  First elected as state senator representing the 16th District in northeast Nebraska in 1998, and re-elected in 2002; did not seek re-election in 2006 (term-limited).  Democratic nominee for Congress in Nebraska's 1st CD in 2004.

Finance Director
Clara Blankenbiller

Communications Director (DNC)
Eric Van Horn
Hired as a field organizer for the NDP in Jan. 2007, played a major role in organizing the Feb. 9, 2008 Democratic caucuses, and assumed the role of communications director in July 2008.  Managed the NDP Coordinated Campaign's field office in Grand Island in Fall 2006. Graduated from Iowa State University in 2006.  Did some campaigning for Gov.Howard Dean during the 2004 Iowa caucuses and for Sen. John Kerry during the general election.

Field Organizer (DNC)
Anna Wolf

Field Organizer (DNC)
Meg Mandy

Obama caucuses

Copyright © 2008, 2009  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action