Barack Obama-Organization, Kansas
revised March 3, 2009

Headquarters: 925 Iowa St., Suite L, Lawrence, KS 66044  785.832.2008   ...opened in October 2007; grand opening November 13.
State Director (KS, MN, ND) Chris Miller
Miller previously served as the campaign's Midwest field director.  National field director for 21st Century Democrats.  Worked on Al Gore's 2000 Iowa caucus campaign.
Caucus Director Mitch Wallace

Senior Advisor Dan Watkins
attorney in Lawrence, KS.

Kansas Field Team: Bobby Schmuck, Chris Blackstone, Elizabeth Parmenter, Dan Walker, Kristy Boone, Stan Adams

"20 staff members in Kansas" including Clark Stevens, Dena Gleason
Kathy Hanks  "Obama fans 'fired up' for caucus." Hutchinson News.  Jan. 24, 2008.

Gov. Kathleen Sebelius   (Jan. 29, 2008)
Lee Kinch - member of the DNC from Derby
Randy Roy - member of the DNC from Topeka

On Jan. 11, 2008 the Topeka Capital-Journal reported the campaign had formed a 29-member State Leadership Committee.  It listed 16 members:
Sen. Marci Francisco (Lawrence)
Rep. Paul Davis (Lawrence)
Rep. Cindy Neighbor (Shawnee)
Rep. Candy Ruff (Leavenworth)
Rep. Valdenia Winn (Kansas City)
Rep. Harold Lane (Topeka)

Heather Getz, community activist (Olathe)

John Hiebert, community activist (Lawrence)
Nancy Hiebert, community activist (Lawrence)
Dick Seaton, community activist (Manhattan)
Bud Stallworth, community activist (Lawrence)
Dan Watkins Sr., adviser to Obama for Kansas (Lawrence)
Shari Wilson, community activist (Kansas City)
Topeka City Councilman John Alcala
Topeka community activist Larry Tenopir
Topeka Unified School District 501 board member Patrick Woods

On Jan. 17, 2008 the campaign held a press conference in the Rotunda of the State Capitol to show support of elected officials, most notably Senate Democratic Leader Anthony Hensley (Topeka).  Co-chairs of the State Leadership Committee are Hensley and former U.S. Senate candidate Jill Docking.
Other officials announced:
Sen. Donald Betts (Wichita)
Sen. David Haley (Kansas City)
Sen. Marci Francisco (Lawrence)
Rep. Paul Davis (Lawrence)
Rep. Cindy Neighbor (Shawnee)
Rep. Candy Ruff (Leavenworth)
Rep. Valdenia Winn (Kansas City)
Rep. Harold Lane (Topeka)

Missouri-Kansas State Council of the Service Employees International Union (represents more than 15,000 members in both states) endorsed Sen. Barack Obama on  Oct. 18, 2007.  Sherwin Carroll is president of the council.

Note: Sen. Obama's mother was from Kansas.
Copyright © 2008, 2009  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action