Barack Obama-Organization, Nebraska
revised March 23, 2009

Headquarters: 2505 N 24th Street, Omaha NE, 68110 Jan. 29, 2008
State Director Rory Steele
Regional field director for Southwest Iowa on Obama's Iowa caucus campaign.  Did GOTV in Washington State in the 2006 cycle.  Former Marine.


Charlie Ellsworth
On leave from the office of Sen. Ben Nelson, where he served as a deputy legislative assistant starting in April 2006.

Field-Omaha  Erin McCann


U.S. Sen. Ben Nelson  (Jan. 12, 2008)

Omaha Mayor Mike Fahey  (Feb. 6, 2008)
Lincoln Mayor Chris Beutler  (Feb. 4, 2008)

Vince Powers - DNC member, Lincoln attorney  (previously supported John Edwards)
Frank LaMere - from South Sioux City, chairman of the DNC's Native Caucus  (Feb. 8, 2008) statement
(and, according to the release below, Kathleen Fahey, DNC member)

later developments:

PRESS RELEASE from Obama for America
April 23, 2008 posting on the campaign's blog; reported in the Lincoln Journal Star on April 19.

Nebraska Superdelegate for Obama

LINCOLN, Neb. – Audra Ostergard, Associate Chair of the Nebraska Democratic Party and member of the Democratic National Committee, publicly announced her support for Senator Barack Obama in the race for the Democratic Presidential nomination.

“I have carefully weighed input from Democrats across Nebraska and closely watched results from primaries and caucuses across the country,” said Ostergard.  “There are compelling arguments for supporting both candidates, but my decision came down to what’s best for our country and for Nebraska.  In that regard, I am confident in my decision to endorse Senator Obama.  He has a proven ability to activate Democrats in Nebraska.”

“The gravity of this decision has weighed on me heavily,” Ostergard added.  “I don’t want to use my position to influence the process, but at the same time I agree with Howard Dean that our party needs a nominee.  Senator Obama’s prohibitive lead in pledged delegates was a major factor in my decision.”

Ostergard, 41, is a publishing representative in Lincoln.  By virtue of her position as Associate Chair in the Nebraska Democratic Party, she is a member of the Democratic National Committee and therefore automatically a delegate to the Democratic Party’s National Convention in August.

All six of Nebraska’s Unpledged Party Leaders and Elected Official Delegates (also known as “superdelegates”) have now endorsed Senator  Obama.  U.S. Senator Ben Nelson, Committeman Vince Powers, Committeewoman Kathleen Fahey, and Committeman Frank La Mere all endorsed prior to Nebraska’s February 9th Caucus.  NDP Chairman Steve Achelpohl announced his support last week.
Copyright © 2008  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action