Barack Obama-Organization, Virginia
revised Dec. 9, 2008

OBAMA FOR AMERICA (announced Feb. 10, 2007)
Headquarters: 808 North Hamilton Street, Richmond, VA 23221
State Director Stacey Brayboy
Obama's state director for the Jan. 26 South Carolina primary campaign.  Twelve years of experience in various levels of government.  Deputy director of the Virginia Council on Human Rights, appointed by Gov. Tim Kaine in Feb. 2006.  State core director for Tim Kaine’s successful gubernatorial campaign and for the Virginia Coordinated Campaign in 2005.  Midlands regional director on Wesley Clark's South Carolina primary campaign.  Served on the staffs of Sens. Sam Nunn (D-GA) and Fritz Hollings (D-SC), Congressman Robin Tallon (D-SC) and Congressman James Clyburn (D-SC).  Bachelor's degree from Francis Marion University in Florence, SC; M.P.A. from Clark Atlanta University in Georgia.  Native of Manning, SC.
Field Jason Powell
Regional field director based in Nashua on Obama's NH primary campaign.  Coordinated campaign field director for Vermont Democrats in 2006.  Worked in Obama's Senate office as an LC.  A field organizer on Sen. Tom Daschle's campaign.  Manchester field organizer on Dick Gephardt's 2004 NH primary campaign.  Worked for The Wireless Foundation in Washington, DC.  Graduated from Cornell University in 2002 with a degree in education.
Political Mike McCauley
Obama's deputy political director for the Jan. 26 South Carolina primary campaign.  Field staffer on John Kerry's 2004 South Carolina primary campaign.
Communications Kevin Griffis
Obama's communications director for the Jan. 26 South Carolina primary campaign.  Previously served as communications director for Democratic nominee Jim Pederson in Arizona's 2006 U.S. Senate campaign.  Directed communications for Virginia's Democratic coordinated campaign during Tim Kaine's successful gubernatorial run in 2005.   Directed communications for the Democratic Party of Virginia.  Nevada communications director for America Coming Together in 2004.  Political reporter for Atlanta's independent newsweekly, Creative Loafing, 2000-03.  B.A. in political science from Beloit College in Beloit, Wisconsin.

Richmond - 201 W. Broad St, Suite 304, Richmond, VA 23220

Charlottesville - 108 East Main Street, Charlottesville, VA 22902

Falls Church - 6066 Leesburg Pike, 4th Floor, Falls Church, VA 22041

Hampton - 2013 Cunningham Drive, Suite 224, Hampton, VA 23666

Norfolk - 549 E. Brambleton Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23510

Roanoke - 110 Kirk Ave. SW, Roanoke, VA 24011

Phone Bank Locations:
Falls Church - 400 N. Washington Street, 3rd Floor, Falls Church, VA 22046
Richmond - 6243 River Road, Suite 6, Richmond, VA 23229

Grassroots Director - Jane Van Ostern
Earlier an intern on the Iowa caucus campaign in the Des Moines headquarters.  Director/owner of Music Together of Greater Richmond through 2006.  Co-founder/instructor at the Pacific Grove Unified School District.  M.A. in community leadership from Regis University (Denver), 1987.  B.S. in family studies from the University of Kentucky, 1984.

GOTV  - Yohannes Abraham
A Polk County field organizer on Obama's Iowa caucus campaign.  Degree in political science from Yale, 2007.  From Springfield, VA.

Gov. Tim Kaine  (Feb. 17, 2007)
U.S. Rep. Jim Moran  (Feb. 10, 2008)
U.S. Rep. Rick Boucher  (Jan. 22, 2008)
U.S. Robert C. "Bobby" Scott  (Dec. 20, 2007)

(announced Feb. 4, 2008)
Sen. Louise Lucas, D-Portsmouth (switched from Clinton, whom she had endorsed in May 2007)
Sen. Janet Howell, D-Reston (formerly backed John Edwards)
Sen. Donald McEachin of Henrico County
Sen. Mark Herring of Loudoun County
Sen. Toddy Puller of Fairfax County
Sen. Henry Marsh of Richmond

(support of 17 delegates announced Jan. 31, 2008)
Del. Kris Amundson, D-Mount Vernon
Del. Kenny Alexander, D-Norfolk
Del. Bob Brink, D-Arlington
Del. David Englin, D-Alexandria
Del. Dwight Jones, D-Richmond, head of the state Legislative Black Caucus (endorsed Obama May 9, 2007)
Del. David Marsden, D-Burke
Del. Ken Melvin, D-Portsmouth
Del. Joe Morrisey, D-Highland Springs
Del. Paul Nichols, D-Woodbridge
Del. Ken Plum, D-Reston
Del. Jim Scott, D-Merrifield
Del. Mark Sickles, D-Franconia
Del. Shannon Valentine, D-Lynchburg
Del. Onzlee Ware, D-Roanoke
Minority Leader Ward Armstrong, D-Martinsville (formerly backed John Edwards)
Del. Vivian Watts, D-Annandale (formerly backed John Edwards)
Del. Bob Hull, D-Falls Church (formerly backed John Edwards)
note Edwards ended campaign Jan. 30, 2008

Alexandria Mayor Bill Euille, Charlottesville Mayor Dave Norris, Roanoke Mayor Nelson Harris and Norfolk Mayor Paul Fraim (Feb. 5, 2008)
Richmond Mayor and former Gov. Doug Wilder  (Jan. 4, 2008)

complete list

and newspapers
The Fredericksburg Free Lance-Star (02/08/08)
Danville Register & Bee   (02/08/08)
Alexandria Times  (02/07/08)
Copyright © 2007, 2008  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action