Barack Obama-Organization, West Virginia
revised June 16, 2008

Headquarters: 1021 Quarrier St, Charleston, WV 25301   304-346-2616  ...grand opening April 12, 2008
State Director  Ashley Walker
Served as deputy to political director Matt Nugen in Chicago; joined the campaign in Aug. 2007, and was in line to work in Florida.  Walker managed Jeremy Ring (D-Margate)'s successful 2006 campaign for State Senate in Florida.

Deputy State Director  Rudy Shenk
Shenk started as the campaign's national outreach director in Chicago and later served as state director in New York.  Oversaw Kerry-Edwards outreach to CEOs and small business owners during '04 cycle.  Aide to New York State Comptroller, H. Carl McCall during his 2002 gubernatorial bid.  Government affairs associate for Napster.  Undergraduate degree from NYU; J.D. from Fordham Law School.  Grew up in Portland, Oregon.
Political Director  Clete Johnson
On leave from position as aide to Sen. Jay Rockefeller.  Operations director for West Virginia Victory 2004, the coordinated campaign.  A field organizer for Max Cleland for Senate in 2002.  Worked full-time on the congressional campaigns of his father, former U.S. Rep. Don Johnson (D-GA), in the early 1990s.  Fulbright fellowship for graduate studies in international relations at the London School of Economics.  Served in the U.S. Army as a platoon leader in Korea and a general’s aide in Germany and Kosovo.
Field Director  Rachel Sigman
A regional field director for the Nevada caucus campaign and the Texas primary campaign (El Paso).  Experience includes deputy executive director of the Tahoe-Baikal Institute.  Studied ecoregional environmental management in Madagascar as a Fulbright scholar.  B.A. from Wesleyan University, 2001.

Regional Field Directors
Wheeling (Northern Panhandle) -- Victoria McCullough
Morgantown (North-Central) -- Nick Buis
Martinsburg (Eastern Panhandle) -- John LaRue
Charleston (Metro Valley) -- David Zhao
Huntington (Southwest) -- Luis Hernandez
Beckley (Southeast) -- Grant Lahmann

Spokesman Thomas Bowen
Campaign manager on the Bill Foster for Congress special election in Illinois 14th CD (Feb. 5, 2008 primary, March 8 general).  Campaign manager on Chicago Alderman Vi Daley 2007 re-election campaign.  Field assistant on Duckworth for Congress in 2006.  B.A. in political science from Illinois Wesleyan University, 2001.

GOTV Director
Matt Kasdan
Deputy field director on Obama's Nevada campaign.  Field director/deputy director on the 2006 Maryland Coordinated Campaign.  Deputy field director on Corzine for Governor in New Jersey in 2005.  Graduate of Bucknell University.

Beckley - 128 Harper Court, Beckley, WV

Clarksburg - 321 W. Main Street, Suite 210, Clarksburg, WV 26301

Elkins - 100 Second Street, Elkins, WV  26241

Fairmont - 307 Cleveland Ave, Fairmont, WV  26554

Grafton - 33 W. Main Street, Grafton, WV  26354

Huntington - 801 4th Avenue, Huntington, WV 25701

Martinsburg - 124½ S. Queen Street, Martinsburg, WV 25401

Morgantown - 433 Beechurst Avenue Morgantown, WV

Parkersburg - 219 4th Street, Parkersburg, WV 26101

Romney - 92 E. Main St., Suite 99, Romney, WV  26757

Wheeling - 96 14th Street, Wheeling, WV

U.S. Sen. Jay Rockefeller  (announced Feb. 29, 2008)
U.S. Rep. Nick Joe Rahall II (WV-3)  (March 6, 2008)
State Auditor Glen Gainer III  (May 1, 2008)

local leaders (announced May 9, 2008)
Sen. Dan Foster (Kanawha County)

Sen. Jon Blair Hunter (Mon County)
Sen. Jeff Kessler (Marshall)
Del. John Doyle (Jefferson County)
Del. Ron Fragale (Harrison County)
Del. Charlene Marshall (Mon County)
Del. Clif Moore (McDowell County)
Del. Alex Shook (Mon County)
Sheriff John Gruzinskas (Marshall)
Jerry Brookover (Chair, Wirt County Exec. Committee)
Previously announced endorsements
Ken Hechler, former Congressman and West Virginia Secretary of State
Del. Tal Hutchins (Ohio County)
Sen. Larry Edgell (Wetzel County)  
Mayor Emmett Pugh (Beckley)
Sheriff Tom Burgoyne (Ohio County)
Commissioner David Sims (Ohio County)
John Saunders (former USW local president, Ohio County Dem co-chair)
Frank Slider (Tyler County Chair)

Northern Panhandle leaders (annnounced April 29, 2008)

Charleston Gazette  (04/08/08)
Copyright © 2008  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action