Democratic Committees-Organization
2005-06 Edition --last updated Dec. 7, 2006

Democratic Governors' Association
1401 K Street, NW, Suite 200  Washington, DC  20005
(from Sept. 2005) formerly at 499 South Capitol Street, SW,  Suite 422  Washington, DC 20003
Chairman Gov. Bill Richardson (NM)  [Fact Sheet]
(Chairman of the DGA in 2005 and 2006)  Elected Governor in Nov. 2002; seeking re-election in 2006 [re-elected with about 69% of the vote].  Chairman of the 2004 Democratic National Convention.  Joined the consulting firm Kissinger, McLarty & Richardson.  U.S. Secretary of Energy, 1998-Jan. 2001.  U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations, 1997.  Represented the 3rd CD in New Mexico for 15 years, 1983-97.  M.A. from Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy, 1971 and B.A. from Tufts University, 1970.  Grew up in Mexico City.  Born Nov. 15, 1947 in Pasadena, CA.
Executive Director Penny Lee
(succeeded B.J. Thornberry, who resigned in March 2005) Came to the DGA from position as Director of the Office of Communications and earlier as Director of the Office of Public Liaison for Pennsylvania Gov. Ed Rendell.  Executive Director of the 2003 Rendell Inaugural Committee.  National Finance Director on Rendell's campaign for Governor.  Prior to the Rendell campaign, Lee was Director of the Democratic Business Council at the Democratic National Committee.  During Rendell's tenure as DNC General Chairman she  served as Senior Advisor to the Finance Chairs.
     Assistant to the Executive Director Kellyn Blossom
Deputy Director Betsy Mullins
(succeeded Maureen Garde)

National Finance Director John V. Blandford
Has worked at the DGA since 1995.  Began in politics volunteering on Dianne Feinstein's 1990 campaign for governor in California.
National Development Director Shannon White
Finance Associate Brian O’Connor


Political Director George Rakis
Director of Elections at the DNC in the 2002 cycle.  Directed the Michigan Coordinated Campaign in 2000.
Deputy Political Director Jennifer Jinks
Field Director for ACT Pennsylvania in 2004.
Deputy Political Director Dan Sena
Regional Director for Moving America Forward (organization formed by Gov. Bill Richardson) in 2004.
Deputy Political Director for Civic Engagement Brandon T. Neal
Experience includes National Director of the Youth & College Division of the NAACP starting in April 2003, and previously Mid-Atlantic Youth Field Director and National Youth Council Coordinator.  Graduate of Howard University, 2000.  Native of Windsor, CT.
Assistant to the Political Director Abby Youngken


Communications Director Bernie Campbell
(July 2006)  Previously worked as a Democratic political consultant based in Tampa.
Deputy Communications Director Brian Namey
Previously Manager of Special Projects.  Graduate of Carnegie Mellon University with a degree in international relations and ethics, history and public policy; served as student body president.  From New Kensington, PA.

Counsel & Director of Policy  Nathan Daschle
(announced July 6, 2005)  Came to DGA from the law firm of Covington & Burling.  Has worked at AFSCME and the Natural Resources Defense Council.  Graduate of Harvard Law School.
Deputy Policy Director John H. Coombs
Previously Political Operations Coordinator.

Liaison for the Vice Chair Diane Luensmann

Director of Operations Donna Tappin

Comptroller Pam Traxel

Interns Nate Owen
Jason Prasad

Maureen Garde, Deputy Director

Christy Mach, Finance Associate

Communications Director Nicole Harburger
Communications Director Roberta Heine (announced July 6, 2005) Began her political career with Minnesota Gov. Rudy Perpich.  Worked on Capitol Hill with Congressman Tim Penny (D-MN) and Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-NM) and served with Clinton administration in the Department of Education and the National Endowment for the Humanities.  More than a dozen years of television news and public relations experience, most recently as media director for the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME).
Jon Summers

Policy Advisor, Albert Morales

Liaison for the Vice Chair, JoAnne Huls

Interns, Raphy Goodstein, Nicholas Shepard; Sean Smith, Lauriell Webb, Geoff Hainbach, David Liskov, Carly Rush, Karl Sjogren

Liaison for the Vice Chair, Vivian Leung

Copyright © 2005, 2006  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action