Beltway Happenings
June 15, 2005--In a sign of dissension within the labor movement, leaders of five large unions announced formation of the Change to Win Coalition.  In a statement, the union presidents declared, "If the labor movement doesn't adopt dramatic changes today to cope with the new economy it will find itself marginalized into oblivion. We come together today to prevent that.” 
Andrew Stern, President, Service Employees International Union

James P. Hoffa, President, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

John W. Wilhelm, President/Hospitality Industry, UNITE-HERE

Joseph Hansen, President, United Food and Commercial Workers Union

Terence O’Sullivan, President, Laborers’ International Union of North America

Change to Win Coalition
Copyright © 2005  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action