from the Des Moines Register

Six Democratic candidates for president will take the stage at 1 p.m. Thursday in the Des Moines Register's second presidential debate.

The candidates who will take part are Senator Joe Biden, Senator Hillary Clinton, Senator Chris Dodd, Senator John Edwards, Senator Barack Obama and Governor Bill Richardson.

The criteria to establish which participants were invited to the Register's debates:

 1. Candidates must have filed an FEC Form F-2 "Statement of Candidacy" with the Federal Election Commission, and

2. Candidates must have publicly announced an intention to run for the nomination of the Republican or the Democratic Party for President of the United States, and

3. Candidates must have had a campaign office inside the State of Iowa as of October 1, 2007, and

4. Candidates must have employed at least one paid campaign staff representative to perform full-time campaign duties in the State of Iowa on behalf of the candidate since at least October 1, 2007, and

5. Candidates must have had at least a 1% support showing in the Des Moines Register's October, 2007 Iowa Poll.

Neither Dennis Kucinich nor Mike Gravel met the third or fourth criteria by the Oct. 1 deadline, according to reports filed with the Federal Election Commission.

The Democratic debate can be seen at Iowa Public Television, CNN, MSNBC, Fox News Channel, C-SPAN 3. The debate will be rebroadcast at 7 p.m. on Iowa Public Television.

It can be seen live via web cast at

It can be heard on XM Radio POTUS Channel 150, C-SPAN Radio and Fox News Radio.


November 28, 2007

Jennifer Glover Konfrst, 515-242-3146

IPTV to Broadcast Des Moines Register Presidential Debates December 12 and 13
Last Iowa debates prior to Iowa Caucuses will be broadcast live at 1 p.m. and will air again at 7 p.m. each evening

(Johnston, Iowa) Iowa Public Television will broadcast live coverage of The Des Moines Register Presidential Debates among Republican candidates for President on Wednesday, December 12, and among Democratic candidates for President on December 13. Debates will be broadcast live each day at 1 p.m., and will be re-broadcast at 7 p.m. each evening. The debates will also be available to public television stations across the country through PBS.

Confirmed candidates for the Republican debate on Wednesday, December 12 are: Ambassador Alan Keyes; former New York Mayor Rudy Giuliani; former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee; Rep. Duncan Hunter; Arizona Sen. John McCain; Texas Rep. Ron Paul; former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney; Colorado Rep. Tom Tancredo; and former Tennessee Senator Fred Thompson.

Confirmed candidates for the Democratic debate on Thursday, December 13 are: Delaware Sen. Joe Biden; New York Sen. Hillary Clinton; Connecticut Sen. Christopher Dodd; former North Carolina Sen. John Edwards; Illinois Sen. Barack Obama; New Mexico Gov. Bill Richardson.

Media looking for information about on-site or remote coverage of The Des Moines Register Debates on Iowa Public Television should call 515-242-3146. For information about tickets or other details, contact The Des Moines Register at 515-284-8000.

# # #

Iowa Public Television is Iowa's statewide public broadcasting network. IPTV provides quality, noncommercial programming to make a difference in the lives of Iowans. As one of the last locally controlled media enterprises in the state, IPTV is committed to telling Iowa's stories like no one else can. Our mission to educate, inform, enrich, and inspire Iowans enables IPTV to present an unequaled array of programs of lasting value to Iowans regardless of where they live or what they can afford. More than one million viewers a week turn to IPTV for programming that reflects a range of interests for Iowans in all demographic categories. Iowa Public Television stations include: Channel 11, Des Moines; Channel 12, Iowa City; Channel 21, Fort Dodge; Channel 24, Mason City; Channel 27, Sioux City; Channel 32, Waterloo; Channel 32, Council Bluffs; Channel 36, Davenport; Channel 36, Red Oak. IPTV-Digital stations include: Channel 11.1, Des Moines; Channel 12.1, Iowa City; Channel 21.1, Fort Dodge; Channel 24.1, Mason City; Channel 27.1, Sioux City; Channel 32.1, Waterloo; Channel 32.1, Council Bluffs; Channel 36.1, Red Oak; Channel 36.1, Davenport (coming soon).

from the Des Moines Register

Published October 31, 2007

Register debates moved earlier


The Des Moines Register's presidential debates have been moved to mid-December from early January.

The Republican debate will be held on Wednesday, Dec. 12, and the Democratic debate will follow on Thursday, Dec. 13.

The 90-minute debates will take place at Iowa Public Television's Maytag Auditorium in Johnston, starting at 1 p.m. The events will be broadcast live on the statewide television network and rebroadcast at a later time.

The Register debates have been rescheduled in response to the decisions of the Iowa Democratic and Republican parties to hold the caucuses on Jan. 3 instead of Jan. 14.