Mitt Romney-Organization, Arizona
updated May 29, 2007

Honorary Chair Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio
(announced Feb. 28, 2007)  Known around the country as "America's Toughest Sheriff", he has been one of Arizona's most popular officials since being elected in 1992.  Maricopa County is home to approximately three million people including the Phoenix Metropolitan area.
Chair State Senator Chuck Gray
(announced April 9, 2007)  Elected to the Legislature in 2002; is Chairman of the Judiciary Committee.  Head of an Internet company that markets automative accessories; established the company in 1997.  Mesa Police Department, 1990-2000.  Worked for twelve years in the family business as a mason, foreman and superintendent; attended Mesa Community College.
Co-Chair State Rep. Mark Anderson
(announced April 19, 2007)  First elected in 1994; represents western Mesa.  Prior to running for the legislature, Anderson was executive director of a non-profit organization.  He currently owns a marketing business.
State Director Jason Rose
(announced Feb. 28, 2007)  President of Rose & Allyn Public Relations; founded the Scottsdale firm in 1996.  Recognized by Arizona Business Magazine in 2006 as "Arizona's PR Heavyweight," Rose is one of Arizona's most well-known political consultants.
State Finance Director Corrine Lovas
(announced Jan. 31, 2007)  A top political fundraiser in Arizona and the Southwest.  Has worked for U.S. Sen.Jon Kyl, President Bush's 2004 re-election campaign, the RNC and numerous other Republican candidates and causes.

City And County Chairs:
Town of Gilbert-Town Councilman Don SkousenSkousen has been on the Gilbert Town Council since 2001.  Previously, he served as a Justice of the Peace and sat on the Gilbert School Board for 20 years.  (announced April 27, 2007)

City of Chandler-Leo And Karen Mahoney. Conservative Activists.  Leo Mahoney has served as a Republican Party District Chairman and as First Vice Chairman of the Maricopa County Republican Party.  Karen Mahoney has served as Past President of the Mesa Republican Women's Club.  (announced April 27, 2007)

Apache County-Myrna And Dick Udall. Myrna Udall is currently 1st vice chairman of Apache County Republican Committee. Chaired the Bush-Cheney re-election campaign in Apache County in 2004.  (announced April 27, 2007)

Pima County-Ed ParkerFormer executive director of the Pima County Republican Party.  (announced April 27, 2007)

State Representative Rich Crandall (Mesa) (announced May 21, 2007)
Queen Creek Mayor Art Sanders (announced May 29, 2007)

Arizona Finance Steering Committee  (held its first meeting on Jan. 25, 2007; announced Jan. 31)
Co-Chair: Paul and Susan Gilbert - Co-founder of the Beus Gilbert Law Firm in Scottsdale.  Gilbert and his wife, Susan, attended and participated in the $6.5 million "National Call Day" in Boston.

Co-Chair: Lee Hanley -Founding principal and chairman of Vestar, a leading developer/manager of large scale retail shopping centers.  Hanley also participated in the "National Call Day."

Co-Chair: Kevin DeMenna - President of DeMenna & Associates, a top Arizona lobbying firm.  Served as finance chairman for 2002 Republican gubernatorial nominee Matt Salmon's campaign.  In Jan. 2007 he was recognized by the Arizona State Republican Party for being the state's top Republican fundraiser.

Co-Chair: Harry Cavanagh - Founder of the O'Connor Cavanagh Law Firm and now the namesake of the Phoenix-based Cavanagh Law Firm.  A prominent figure in Arizona's business, legal and philanthropic communities.

Co-Chair: Wil Cardon - President and CEO of The Cardon Group, a well-known Arizona real estate company.

additions to the Finance Steering Committee (announced Feb. 28, 2007)
Ernie BairdFounding partner of Baird Williams & Greer, LLP.  Served in the Arizona House of Representatives, 1991-97, including time as the House Majority Leader and as Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee.

Scott BundgaardAn executive with J.P. Morgan, Bundgaard served six years in the Arizona Senate both as Chairman of the Finance Committee and Vice Chairman of the Banking Committee.  He is a veteran of commercial real estate and finance.

Paul WalshChairman and CEO of eFunds Corporation, a leading provider of risk management, electronic payments and global outsourcing solutions.  Walsh has 30 years of experience in financial services.  He has been the Chairman and CEO of Clareon Corporation, iDeal Partners and Wright Express Corporation.  He currently serves on the Board of Directors of Staples, Inc.

Don CogmanChairman of CC Investments, a private investment firm in Scottsdale, Arizona.  In 2002, he was appointed by President Bush to serve on a panel tasked with overhauling the United States Postal Service.  Cogman currently serves as Chairman of the National Federation of Independent Business (NFIB) Education Foundation.  Formerly, he served as President and Chief Operating Officer World-wide of Burson-Marsteller.
Copyright © 2007  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action