Obama General Election Campaign Organization, South Carolina
revised April 14, 2009  disclaimer

Obama for America 
|  1529 Hampton Street  |  Columbia, SC     
State Director
Trav Robertson
(announced Aug. 14, 2008)  Iowa regional field director and South Carolina field coordinator for Gov. Bill Richardson’s presidential campaign.  Robertson ran the 2006 re-election campaign of State Treasurer Grady Patterson, narrowly won by Thomas Ravenel (R).  Previously he served as a spokesman for Treasurer Patterson, and directed Patterson's successful 2002 and 1998 re-election campaigns.  Robertson also managed Brent Weaver's congressional campaign in the Dec. 2001 special election in the 2nd CD, and Congressman John Spratt's victory in 2000.   Additionally, he is a former chairman of the Anderson County Democratic Party   B.A. from the University of South Carolina.  South Carolina native.

Political Director
Clay N. Middleton
(announced Aug. 14, 2008)  Before joining Obama for America, Middleton worked as a regional field organizer for the SC Democratic Party in partnership with the DNC, and in 2008, he ran for the SC House of Representatives in House District 111, narrowly losing in the runoff.  Iraq War Veteran; during his tour of duty he earned the Bronze Star Medal.  Lowcountry coordinator for House Majority Whip Congressman James E. Clyburn.  Graduate of The Citadel, 2003; commissioned from ROTC in 2003 as a second lieutenant in the S.C. Army National Guard; he remains a Captain in the SC Army National Guard.  Charleston native.

Campaign for Change 
Kyle Cox
Voter file manager on Obama's South Carolina primary campaign.  President of the Clarity Group, a political consulting firm out of Indianapolis.  In 2004 Cox coordinated the Kerry campaign in Indiana for several months and then in Aug. he was sent to Ft. Lauderdale, FL where he served as director of political information technology.  Graduate of Indiana University with a degree in health administration, 1997.  From Bedford, IN.

Field Director
Abe Jenkins
Field organizer in Charleston on the SC primary campaign.

Regional Field Directors

Low Country - Ashley Jones, Robin Biro, and Jane Lesnick

South Carolina Democratic Party 
|   1529 Hampton St., Suite 200  |  Columbia, SC 29201   803-799-7798 >
Carol Fowler
(elected April 28, 2007)  DNC member since 1989.  Native of Colleton County.

Executive Director
Jay Parmley
Earlier served as the party's technology director.  Directed Mississippi Democrats' coordinated campaign in 2007.  Chairman of the Oklahoma Democratic Party, 2001-05.  President of the Young Democrats of America, 1999-2001.  Chancellor's student relations liaison for the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, 1995-97.  M.P.A from University of Oklahoma, 1995; B.A. in public administration from University of Oklahoma, 1993; A.A. degree from Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College.  Wyandotte native.  Appointed by DNC Chairman Governor Howard Dean as an At-Large member of the DNC in 2005 and is a superdelegate.

Field Organizers
Lance Jones - Studied political science at Benedict College.

Cherie Mabrey - M.A. in community education from Appalachian State University, B.A. in communication arts theatre/speech.

Cedric Jackson - B.A. in political science from Benedict College.

Finance Director
Ashley Medbery
B.A. in journalism from the University of South Carolina.

Operations Manager
Barbara Bowman
B.A. in architectural design from UCLA.

Research/Communications Assistant Keiana Page
B.A. in mass communications from Benedict College.

Obama primary

Copyright © 2008  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action