Barack Obama-Organization, Oregon
updated May 29, 2008

Headquarters: 3016 SE Division Street, Portland, OR 97202    503-236-2008 ...grand opening March 30, 2008
State Director Rob Hill
Served as Obama's Vermont state director for the March 4 primary, Maine state director for the Feb. 10 caucuses, and state field director on the Jan. 8 NH primary campaign.  Directed Montana Democrats' 2006 Coordinated Campaign.  Field director for Carry Oregon (2004 Oregon Democratic Coordinated Campaign); field organizer in Waterloo on Kerry's Iowa caucus campaign.  Field organizer and then field director on Sen. Max Baucus' 2002 re-election campaign.  Worked as an environmental organizer with the PIRGs, first in Georgia and then in New Jersey.  Graduated from the University of Virginia with a B.A. in history.
Political Director Jarel LaPan
Previously served as Obama's Massachusetts state director and worked on Obama's NH Primary campaign doing health care, environment, disabilities, sportsmen in the political department.  Moved to NH from Montana, where she worked on health policy and legislative matters for the Governor's office.  In Fall 2004 LaPan was early vote/vote by mail deputy at the DNC.  Worked on Howard Dean's 2003-04 NH primary campaign first as a Seacoast area organizer then as the regional director in the Concord office.  Graduate of The George Washington University with a degree in political science, May 2003.  From Santa Fe, New Mexico.
Field Director Jack Shapiro
Manchester regional field director on Obama's NH primary campaign.  A regional field director on Jon Tester’s 2006 U.S. Senate race in Montana.  A field organizer in Gresham (Multnomah County East) on Carry Oregon, the 2004 Democratic Coordinated Campaign.  Raised in Seattle; originally from Massachusetts.
Communications Director Nick Shapiro
A spokesman on Obama's campaign in Texas.  In Fall 2004 regional press desk at the DNC, then deployed to Nevada for the close of the campaign.  Worked at Deveney Communication.  Graduate of Tulane University.
Press Secretary Bobby Gravitz
Started on the campaign in Iowa.
Press Secretary Parag Chokshi
Previously worked at the DNC.
also Nick Kimball and Gannet Tseggai after the Indiana primary.

GOTV Director Alex Okrent
Worked for the campaign in Iowa; deputy Northeast regional field director in Ohio.  Veteran of Obama’s 2004 Senate race.  Graduate of Wesleyan University, 2005.

Regional Field Directors
Multnomah County
Jim Nam
Earlier was a field organizer in Obama's Council Bluffs office during the Iowa Caucus campaign.  Outreach coordinator on Kulongoski for Governor in 2006.  Field organizer on Carry Oregon (2004 Democratic Coordinated Campaign).  Graduate of the University of Oregon, 2000.

Eugene "Lane County south to California and everything east of Lane, Hood River and Clackamas counties"
Courtney Hight
Field organizer in the Dover office on Obama's NH primary campaign, then field organizer on the campaign in Maine.  Electoral project director at the United States Student Association Foundation in 2006.  Full-time campus organizer for the Oregon Student Association (OSA) for three years.  Degree in environmental studies from the University of Oregon.  Arizona native.

Portland Metro and North Coast
Kiana Scott
Field organizer for the campaign in Muscatine, Iowa during the caucus campaign.

Julia Fox
Field organizer for the campaign in Nashua, NH during the primary campaign.

Jordan Burke
Field organizer for the campaign in New Hampshire.

20 offices including headquarters in Portland
- 258 A Street #1, Ashland, OR  97520

Astoria - 42 7th St, Suite 101, Astoria, OR 97103

Beaverton - 8126 SW Beaverton/Hillsdale Parkway, Portland, OR 97225

Bend -373 NE Greenwood Ave., Bend, OR 97702   ...eighth office (incl. headquarters) to open; grand opening April 14, 2008
North Bend - Pony Village Mall, 1611 Virginia Ave. North Bend, OR 97459

Corvallis - CMT Building, 413 SW Jefferson Avenue, Corvallis, OR 97333

Eugene - 1280 Willamette Street, Eugene, OR 97401

Forest Grove - 1728 Pacific Ave, Forest Grove, OR 97116

Gresham - 1665 NE Division St, Gresham, OR 97030 (in the Hood Center Shopping Complex)

Hood River - 14 Oak St., Hood River, OR  97031

McMinnville - 448 NE 3rd St, McMinnville, OR  97128

Medford - 40 S. Central Avenue, Medford, OR 97501

Oregon City - 605 Main Street, Oregon City, OR 97045

Pendleton - 27 SW Frazer, Pendleton, OR  97801

NE Portland -  1516 NE Killingsworth, Portland, OR 97211

Roseburg - 850 SE Mosher, Roseburg, OR  97470

Salem - 155 Liberty St. NE, Suite 29, Salem, OR 97301

St. Helens - 289 S. 1st St, St. Helens, OR  97051

Tillamook -112 Main Ave, Tillamook, OR 97141

Congressman Earl Blumenauer (3rd CD)  (Feb. 1, 2008)
Congressman David Wu (1st CD)  (April 24, 2008)
Congressman Peter DeFazio (4th CD)  (May 9, 2008)   from earlier...DeFazio's March 12 letter

State Treasurer Randall Edwards, Portland
Superintendent of Public Instruction Susan Castillo, Eugene

President Pro Tempore Sen. Margaret Carter, Portland  (former Edwards supporter; endorsement announced Feb. 25, 2008)
Sen. Alan Bates, Ashland
Sen. Avel Gordly, Portland
Sen. Rick Metsger, Mt. Hood
Sen. Bill Morrissette, Eugene
Sen. Floyd Prozanski, South Lane and North Douglas Counties
Sen. Ben Westlund, Tumalo

Speaker of the House Rep. Jeff Merkley, Portland  (former Edwards supporter; endorsement announced Feb. 25, 2008)
Speaker Pro Tempore Rep. Diane Rosenbaum, Portland
Rep. Jeff  Barker, Aloha
Rep. Phil Barnhart, Central Lane and Linn Counties
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici, Washington County
Rep. Peter Buckley, Ashland
Rep. Ben Cannon, Portland
Rep. Brian Clem, Salem
Rep. Jackie Dingfelder, Portland
Rep. Chris Edwards, West Eugene, Santa Clara, Junction City, Cheshire & Alvadore
Rep. Dave Edwards, Hillsboro
Rep. Larry Galizio, Tigard
Rep. Paul Holvey, Eugene
Rep. Betty Komp, Woodburn
Rep. Tina Kotek, North/NE Portland
Rep. Mary Nolan, Portland
Rep. Tobias  Read, Beaverton
Rep. Mike Schaufler, Happy Valley
Rep. Chip Shields, Portland
Rep. Brad Witt, Clatskanie

Portland Mayor Tom Potter (May 14, 2008)
Bend Mayor Bruce Abernethy
former Portland Mayor Vera Katz

former Oregon Governors Barbara Roberts and John Kitzhaber  (April 10, 2008)

Oregon AFSCME  (March 15, 2008; note international has endorsed Clinton) 1, 2
Oregon Education Association  (March 8, 2008)

former Edwards supporters (Feb. 25, 2008)
House Speaker Jeff Merkley (D-Portland)
State Sen. Margaret Carter (D-Portland)
attorney Robert Stoll
Kari Chisholm (an editor of BlueOregon)

The Oregonian  (Feb. 3, 2008)
Eugene Register-Guard  (April 20, 2008)
East Oregonian (May 2, 2008)
La Grande Observer (April 7, 2008)
Medford Mail Tribune (May 2, 2008)
Portland Tribune...Pamplin Media (April 8, 2008)
Portland Observer
Portland Mercury

The Skanner
Willamette Week (April 30, 2008)
Eugene Weekly
PSU Daily Vanguard


Jenny Greenleaf of Portland, member of the DNC (announced May 23, 2008 on
Meredith Wood Smith of Portland, chairwoman of the Democratic Party of Oregon (announced May 28, 2008 in The Oregonian)
Wayne Kinney of Bend, member of the DNC (announced May 29, 2008)
Gail Rasmussen, vice-president of the Oregon Education Association and an at-large member of the DNC (announced May 29, 2008)

Copyright © 2008  Eric M. Appleman/Democracy in Action